Committed to connecting the world

ICTs for a Sustainable World #ICT4SDG

WTIS 2016 - Speakers

​The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Symposium (WTIS) brings together thought leaders from ICT industry, Ministries, telecom regulatory authorities, national statistical offices and regional and international organisations. It is the key global forum to discuss international ICT measurement and a unique opportunity to join the leadership dialogue. 

Confirmed speakers for WTIS-2016 include:

Minister of Transport and Communications
Mr Thari G. Pheko
Chief Executive
Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority (BOCRA)
Telecommunication Development Bureau
H.E. Mr Rufino Ovono Ondó Engonga
Secretario de Estado encargado de Telecomunicaciones y Nuevas Tecnologías, Ministerio de Telecomunicaciones y Nuevas Tecnologías
Equatorial Guinea
​​In alphabetical order:
Policy, Competition & Economic Analysis Department, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC)
Host of CNBC Africa Television Show TechBusters
Executive Officer of the Policy
Telecommunications Authority
Trinidad and Tobago
Mr Bernard Banda Manager for Research and Statistics at the Zambia Information and Communications Technology Authority (ZICTA)
Mr Itumeleng Batsalelwang
Director, Telecommunications and Postal, Ministry of Transport and Communications
Dr Mårten Blix
Digitalization Expert and Former Secretary to the Swedish Prime Minister in the Commission on the Future Challenges of Sweden
Statistical Specialist
Philippine Statistics Authority
Dr ​Aminata A. Garba
Assistant Professor Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
Executive Director
Research ICT Africa (RIA)
LDCs, SIDS and Emergency Telecommunications Division
Mr Alasdair Hainsworth
Disaster Risk Reduction Service Division
World Meteorological Organisation (WMO)
Programme Officer
UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR)
Liberia Telecommunications Authority
Professor of Economics University of Madrid and Chair of the Expert Group on Telecommunications/ ICT Indicators (EGTI)
Business Development
Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority
Dr Seung Keon Kim
Director General
Korea Association for ICT Promotion (KAIT)
Korea (Rep. of)
Ag. Assistant Director Universal Service Obligations and Funding at the Communications Authority of Kenya
Ms Esperanza Magpantay
Senior Statistician
ICT Data and Statistics Division
Statistician General
Statistics Botswana
Dr Burton S. Mguni
Deputy Statistician General
Statistics Botswana
Mr Jorge Iván Rodríguez Rojas
Advisor of Sector Studies
Ministry of Information Technologies and Communications
Ms Aurora A. Rubio
Head of the ITU Area Office for South East Asia
Mr Abdoulkarim Soumaila
Secretary General
African Telecommunications Union
 Mr Seiji Takagi
Director-General for International Affairs, Global ICT Strategy Bureau
Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications
Dr Susan Teltscher
Human Capacity Building Division and Head a.i., ICT Data and Statistics Division
Dr Dhanaraj Thakur
Research Manager
Alliance for Affordable Internet
Mr Margus Tiru
Project Coordinator for ITU’s project "Big Data for Measuring the Information Society"
​​​Mr Oshinka Tsiang
Broadcaster, Motshwarateu Media, Botswana
Dr Cosmas Zavazava
Chief of Department, Projects and Knowledge Management