Committed to connecting the world

ICTs for a Sustainable World #ICT4SDG

CBS-2016 Speakers

​CBS-2016 brings together Ministers, Director-Generals of Regulatory Authorities, Heads of UN Organizations, CEOs of private sector companies, representatives from universities and research institutions and other experts in ICT capacity building. It is the main global event for capacity development in the field of ICT.

Confirmed speakers for CBS-2016 include: ​




Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Information, Communications and Technology, Republic of Kenya 





Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Republic of Kenya​​




Secretary-General, ITU




Director General, Communications Authority of Kenya





Director Telecommunication Development Bureau, ITU





​H.E. Mr Mohamed Jama Mursal
Minister, Ministry of Post and Telecommunications, Somalia




H.E. Mr Suleiman Zuhairi
Deputy Minister, Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technology, State of Palestine





H.E. Mr Cornelius Deveaux
Deputy Minister, Ministry of Information and Communications, Sierra Leone




H.E. Dr Win Mlambo
Deputy Minister, Ministry of Information, Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services, Zimbabwe


​In alphabetical order:





Ms Lucienne Abrahams Director and Senior Lecturer, Link Centre,
Wits University




Digital Bridge Institute





Curriculum Coordinator, United States Telecommunications Training Institute (USTTI)





Chief Economist,
Swedish Post and Telecom Authority (PTS)





Senior Associate, Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)





Dr Saba Bokhari Education/Programme Specialist, UNESCO Regional Office for Eastern Africa





Director, Swedish Programme for ICT in Developing Regions (Spider), Stockholm University




General Manager for East Africa,





Head, Centre of Excellence for cybersecurity




Co-founder and Academic Director, South School on Internet Governance (SSIG)





Ms Kalaya Chinatiworn Director of International Organizations Group, Ministry of ICT, Thailand





Ms Nadine Chorao Executive Secretary, ARCTEL 





Adviser for Communication and Information, UNESCO Regional Office for Eastern Africa





Executive Director, Association for Progressive Communications (APC)





Head of International Relations,




Mr Mario Ferreira Continuing Education Associate Manager, Instituto Nacional de Telecomunicações





Dr Maria Garrido Research Assistant Professor, Technology & Social Change Group (TASCHA), University of Washington




Ms Annie Gladding
Global Education Specialist, 
INTEL Corporation





Dr Oliver Holland Research Fellow,
King’s College London




Project Manager and Researcher for Online Learning, Diplo Foundation





Dr Kemal Huseinovic Chief, Department of Infrastructure, Enabling Environment and E-Applications, ITU




Ms Anne-Rachel Inné Vice-President Government Engagement, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)





Business Editor, Nation Media Group, Kenya




Programme Manager, Swedish Programme for ICT in Developing Regions (Spider), Stockholm University





Chief Executive Officer, Telkom Kenya





Facultad Regional San Nicolás, Universidad Tecnológica Nacional, Argentina





Co-Founder and COO, iAugmentor Labs





Founder and CEO,
World Tech Makers 





Business Development Manager,
BRCK Education




Board Member,
Internet Society (ISOC)





Universidad Icesi, Colombia





Ambassador, Government Affairs,





Senior Council Member, Computer Society of Kenya (CSK) and World Information Technology and Services Alliance (WITSA)





Director Corporate Affairs - EMEA,




Senior Policy Advisor, Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, Canada





Academic Vice Rector, Universidad Blas Pascal, Argentina





Regional Director for Africa,





Country Managing Direcor, Oracle Kenya





Director General, Ecole Supérieure des Télécommunications de Dakar (ESMT)





Chairman, Pakistan Telecommunications Authority, Pakistan





United Kingdom Telecommunications





Managing Director, ICT Development Associates





Team leader,





Deputy Chief of the International Bureau, Federal Communications Commission (FCC)









Managing Director, HCBS ICT Learning Academy





Lead Developer,




Ms Liu Xiaohong Department Manager of China Telecommunication Technology Labs, China Academy of Information and Communications Technology (CAICT)





Director General, State Radio Monitoring Center, MIIT, China




Dr Cosmas Zavazava Chief of Department, Project Support and Knowledge Management, ITU




Visiting Tutor,
Royal Holloway,
University of London