Committed to connecting the world


PP-14 Elections

The Plenipotentiary Conference elects the Secretary-General, the Deputy Secretary-General, the Directors of the Bureaux of the Radiocommunication Sector (BR), the Telecommunication Standardization Sector (TSB) and the Telecommunication Development Sector (BDT) and the members of the Radio Regulations Board (RRB) (see Nos 55 and 56 and Nos. 62 and 63 of the Constitution).

The Plenipotentiary Conference also elects the Member States that will constitute the next ITU Council (see No. 54 and No. 61 of the Constitution). 

Time-limits and procedures

In accordance with No. 170 of the General Rules of conferences, assemblies and meetings of the Union, candidatures must reach the Secretary-General not later than 23:59 hours (Geneva time) the 28th day prior to the conference, i.e. Monday, 22 September 2014.
For detailed information on elections and election procedures, please refer to Article 2 of the Convention and Chapter III of the General Rules of conferences, assemblies and meetings of the Union ( see also Circular letter 165).

Right to vote

In order to be able to exercise their sovereign rights in full at the Plenipotentiary Conference, Member States must ensure that they have maintained the right to vote in accordance with Nos 169 and 210 of the Constitution and that the delegations representing them at the Plenipotentiary Conference 2014 are duly accredited in accordance with Nos 325 and 327 to 331 of the Convention.

Previous Elections