Committed to connecting the world

ICTs for a Sustainable World #ICT4SDG

Inauguration of ITU Elected Officials

ITU elected officials and spouses



H.E. Dr Hamadoun I. Touré, ITU Secretary-General

Inauguration of Elected Officials


ITU elected officials

Elected officials of ITU. From left to right: Brahima Sanou, Director of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau, Malcolm Johnson, Director of the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, Dr Hamadoun Touré, ITU Secretary-General, Houlin Zhao, ITU Deputy Secretary-General, François Rancy, Director of the ITU Radiocommunication Bureau.


14 January 2011, Geneva, Switzerland

This morning saw the inauguration of the five officials who were elected at the ITU's Plenipotentiary Conference in Guadalajara, Mexico, last October.

It was a great personal honour to be re-elected to a second four-year term as Secretary-General, and a great pleasure to be present this morning with my fellow elected officials: Houlin Zhao (re-elected for a second term as Deputy Secretary-General); Malcolm Johnson (re-elected for a second term as Director of the Telecommunciation Standardization Bureau); François Rancy (elected as Director of the Radiocommunication Bureau); and Brahima Sanou (elected as Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau).
We were honoured by the presence of former ITU Secretary-General Mohamed Ezzedine Mili, along with numerous Ministers, Ambassadors, and other members of the Geneva diplomatic community at the inauguration ceremony, and we look forward to serving ITU and its membership over the next four busy years.

 ITU Secretary-General speaks at the Inauguration of Elected Officials

ITU Secretary-General Dr Hamadoun Touré speaks at the Inauguration of Elected Officials.