Committed to connecting the world

AI for Good Global Summit

Editorial board


Prof. Ian F. Akyildiz
Ian F. Akyildiz​
President and Founder​, Truva Inc., United States

Ian F. Akyildiz received his BS, MS, and PhD degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany, in 1978, 1981 and 1984, respectively. He is the Founder and Editor in Chief of the newly established of the ITU (International Telecommunication Union) Journal on Future and Evolving Technologies (ITU-J FET) since August 2020. Currently he is the President of ​​the Truva Inc. based in Atlanta since March 1989. He also serves on the Advisory Board for the newly established research center called Technology Innovation Institute (TII) in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates since June 1, 2020. He is the Ken Byers Chair Professor in Telecommunications Emeritus at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Former Chair of the Telecom Group at the ECE of GaTech and the Director of the Broadband Wireless Networking Laboratory between (1985-2020). He is a Megagrant Research Leader with the Institute for Information Transmission Problems at the Russian Academy of Sciences, in Moscow, Russia, since May 2018. He is a Visiting Distinguished Professor with the SSN College of Engineering in Chennai, India since October 2019 and an Adjunct Professor with Department of Electrical Engineering at University of Iceland since September 2020.

In the last two decades he established many research centers worldwide, e.g.,  at the University of Pretoria, South Africa, Politecnica de Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain, King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, University of Tampere, Finland. He is  the Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of Computer Networks Journal (Elsevier) (1999-2019), the founding Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the Ad Hoc Networks Journal (Elsevier) (2003-2019), the founding Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the Physical Communication (PHYCOM) Journal (Elsevier) (2008-2017), and the founding Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the Nano Communication Networks (NANOCOMNET) Journal (Elsevier) (2010-2017).  He launched  many conferences and workshops and served as General Chairs and TPC  Chairs for many of them. He is an IEEE Fellow and ACM Fellow and received numerous awards from IEEE and ACM and other professional organizations. He received the Alexander von Humboldt Award to conduct research on TeraHertz  at the University of Erlangen-Nurnberg between 2014-2017.

His current research interests are in 6G/7G Wireless Communication Systems, TeraHertz Communication, Internet of BioNanoThings, Molecular Communication, Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces, Nanonetworks, Internet of Space Things/CUBESATs; Internet of Things in Challenged Environments such as Underwater and Underground. According to Google Scholar as of March 2022, his h-index is 131 and the total number of citations to his papers is 133+K.


​​Mónica Aguilar Igartua​, Univer​​sitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), Spain ​ ​​
George C. Alexandropoulos​, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Pelin Angin, Middle East Technical University, Turkey
Mauro Renato Boldi, Telecom Italia, Italy ​
Flávia C. Delicato​, Fluminense Federal University, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Francesca Cuomo​, University of Rome Sapienza, Italy 
Marilia Curado​, University of Coimbra, Portugal 
Fabio D'Andreagiovanni, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) - Sorbonne University, France
Franco Davoli, University of Genoa, Italy 
​C​​hristos Douligeris​, University of Piraeus, Greece
Hesham ElBakoury, Futurewei Technologies, Inc., USA
Ana Garcia Armada, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Gordana Gardašević​, University of Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
​Liljana Gavrilovska, Ss Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia 
​Wolfgang Gerstacker, University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany
Tolga Girici, TOBB University of Economics and Technology, Turkey 
Isabelle Guérin Lassous, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 - LIP, France
​Ozgur Gurbuz, Sa​​banci University, Turkey
Ibrahim Habib​, The City University of New York, USA
Zoran Hadzi-Velkov, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia 
Evgeny Khorov​, ​Institute for Information Transmission Problems, Russian Academy of Sciences,​​ Russia​​
Katarzyna Kosek-Szott​, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Richie Leo​, ZTE Corporation, China
Albert Levi, Sabanci University, Turkey
Christos Liaskos​, Found​ation for Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH), University of Ioannina, Greece
Valeria Loscrí​, Inria Lille-Nord Europe, France​
Antonio A.F. Lour​eiro​, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
​Vladimir Lyashev, Huawei Technologies, Russia
Albert Lysko​, Council for Industrial and Scientific Research, South Africa
Barbara Masini​, CNR - IEIIT & University of Bologna, Italy 
​​Nathalie Mitton, Inria Lille - Nord Europe, France
Antonella Molinaro, University Mediterranea of Reggio Calabria, Italy
Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal ​
​Sotiris Nikoletseas, Patras University and Computer Technology Institute and Press "Diophantus" (CTI), Greece
Konstantinos Oikonomou​, Ionian University, Greece
Rodolfo Oliveira, Nova University of Lisbo​n, Portugal 
Athanasios D. Panagopoulos, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Milica Pejanovic-Djurisic, University of Montenegro, Montenegro
Andreas Pitsillides, University of Cyprus, Cyprus & University of Johannesburg (Visiting Professor), South Africa
Petar Popovski, Aalborg University, Denmark
​​Tie Qiu, Tianjin University, China
Tahiry Razafindralambo​, University of Reunion Island, France
Martin Reisslein, Arizona ​​State University, USA
Joel J.P.C. Rodrigues, Federal University of Piauí (UFPI), Brazil; Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal​
Giuseppe Ruggeri​, University of Reggio Calabria, Italy 
Michael Segal, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel 
Sanaa Sharafeddine​, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
Sabrina Sicari​, University of Insubria, Italy 
Zhi Sun​​, Tsinghua University, China

Sasu Tarkoma​, University of Helsinki, Finland​
Anna Maria ​Vegni, Università degli Studi Roma Tre, Italy 
Dejan Vukobratovic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Xudong Wang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University & Teranovi Technologies, Inc., China
Cedric Westphal, Huawei Innovation Center, USA
​​Carlos Becker Westphall​, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Wen Xu​, Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH & - European Research Center (ERC), Germany 
Chau Yuen, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore