Committed to connecting the world


ITU Regional Radiocommunication Seminar 2019 for African Region (RRS-19-Africa) – Johannesburg, South Africa, 13-17 May 2019

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​At the kind offer of the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services (DTPS) and the Independent Communications Authority (ICASA) of South Africa, the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), in collaboration with the African Telecommunications Union (ATU), organizes the Regional Radiocommunication Seminar 2019 for Africa (RRS-19-Africa), to be held Johannesburg, South Africa, from 13 to 17 May 2019. RRS-19-Africa will be held in the following format:

The lectures and discussions during RRS-19-Africa will be in English and French with simultaneous interpretation facilities.

The seminar will be conducted in a "paperless" environment, i.e. the seminar documentation will be available on this website. Given the amount of practical work expected during the workshops, participants are required to bring their laptops, performing the set of minimal specifications detailed  on this webpage.

Member States, ITU-R Sector Members, Associates and Academia from African countries, are invited to attend the RRS-19-Africa. Attendance to this Seminar is free of charge for their representatives. Registration for this event is carried out exclusively online, through the respective designated focal point (DFP). The list of DFPs for ITU-R activities, includeing the semainar, is available at​ (TIES protected).

Advance registration of all participants is strongly advised; unannounced participants will face further delays at the on-site registration desks. For those Member States/Sector Members wishing to modify the indicated DFP or for any further information, please contact the ITU-R Delegate Registration Unit at​.

Venue, Accommodation and Visas
Information on the Seminar venue, accommodation, visa matters and other practical arrangements are provided on the "General Information" document, available on this web page. Please take note that citizens of some countries are required to obtain a visa in order to enter South Africa. Please refer to instructions in this regard on the above-mentioned document.

Recognizing the difficulties faced by low-income countries, the ITU offers one partial fellowship per eligible country in the African Region, with priority given to requests coming from least developed countries (LDCs). Fellowhips should be requested by designated focal points during the online registration process (see "Registration" above) and must be submitted before Friday, 19 April 2019.