Committed to connecting the world


GEM-TECH Awards 2015

Propose a Nominee
​​​​​​​​   Gem tech banner new.jpg Hosted by United Nations Agencies UN Women and ITU, the annual Gender Equality and Mainstreaming in Technology (GEM-TECH) Awards recognize that  technology is a uniquely powerful means for transforming the lives of women and helping redress the global gender gap. The only international prizes of their kind, the GEM-TECH Awards celebrate outstanding personal or organizational achievements and innovative strategies that harness information and communication technologies (ICTs) for women's empowerment, promote women's meaningful engagement with ICTs, including as producers and decision-makers in the technology sector, and that create policies and investments that advance women's digital equality.

The first edition of GEM-TECH Awards was successfully launched at ITU Plenipotentiary 2014, in Busan, Republic of Korea and celebrated 7 incredible inspiring winners as well as global achievers. For more information on last year's Awards, click here.

This year's GEM-TECH Awards are celebrated on 14th December in New York, on the eve of the World Summit on the Information Society +10 (WSIS+10) High Level review meeting, and is co-hosted by the Mayor's Office of the City of New York. The event will include a cocktail reception with a Tech Showcase featuring young women technology developers and entrepreneurs​​, keynote addresses from Mitchell Baker, Executive Chairwoman of Mozilla & Minerva Tantoco, CTO of the City of New York​ and awarding and celebrating the 2015 GEM-TECH winners and Global Achievers. ​

For more information about the 2015 GEM-TECH Awards Ceremony and Celebration, click here!

​Please RSVP for the Award Ceremony here.​​

Side Event at WSIS+10 UNGA High-Level Meeting  to celebre the GEM-Tech Award 2015 winners as role models for the international community:  Women's Empowerment in the Digital Age - Implementing WSIS Outcomes and Agenda 2030, 15 December 2015, New York. 


GEM-TECH Awards 2015 finalists have been announced. Click here to see the full list.

GEM-TECH Awards 2015 winners will be announced at the Award Ceremony in New York on 14th December.


2015 is an important year for the global community. We are  celebrating the 20 year anniversary of the Beijing Platform for Action and for this year's awards, will look to ​efforts that have used ICTs to realize progress in its implementation. In 2015, we are also putting in place a new global framework on sustainable development for the next 15 years. Gender equality and women's empowerment is a central goal and ICTs have been recognized as a key means of implementation. The GEM-TECH awards can play an important role in highlighting what works and where initiatives can be scaled and further investments made. Moreover, they showcase the tremendous talent and determination of women to ensure that technology and its application are relevant and responsiv​e to their needs.​​​

Eligible Stakeholders

Three Award Categories

Previous Years