Committed to connecting the world

GSR 2023

Digital Financial Services (DFS) Security Clinics

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The International Telecommunication Union has been organizing “Digital Financial Services Security Clinics” for emerging economies since October 2021 to provide guidance to developing countries on implementing the security recommendations developed by ITU under the Financial Inclusion Global Initiative (FIGI). Some of these Security Clinics held in October - December 2021 were sponsored by the kind support of Ministry of Science and ICT - Republic of Korea. ​The Security Clinics showcase the ITU DFS security lab and share knowledge with regulators and Central Banks on mitigating threats and vulnerabilities which can impact the security of digital financial services. ​

Under the Financial Inclusion Global Initiative program (FIGI), the ITU set up a DFS Security Lab in November 2020 to work in collaboration with DFS regulators on adopting a common methodology to manage security risks and conduct security audit for DFS applications.The objectives of the ITU DFS security lab are as follows:​

​DFS Security Clinics Agenda


Ent​it​y​​/ Organization




​The Gambia Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA)
​5  6 June
​​East Africa
East African Communications Organization (EACO)
 9 February
Eastern Caribbean
​UNCDF-EU-OACP Partnership for Digital Financial Inclusion​
​17  19 January





​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​

Superintendencia de Banca, Seguros y AFP (SBS)
​1 – 2 December
West Afr​ica​
​ West African Telecommunication  Regulators Assembly (WATRA)​
​13  14 October 
​Sierra Leone
​National Telecommunications Commission (NATCOM)
​26 – 27 September
​Superintendencia de Banca, Seguros y AFP (SBS)
​8 – 9 September
​​Côte d’Ivoire​
​Autorité de Régulation des Télécommunications de Côte D'Ivoire (ARTCI)
​6 – 7 September
Democratic Republic of Congo​​
Autorité de Régulation de la Poste et des Télécommunication du Congo​ (ARPTC)
​26  27 July​
Tanzania Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA)
​11 – 12 July
East Africa​​​​
East African Communications Organisation (EACO)
​6 July
​The Gambia Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA)
​29  30 June
State Bank of Pakistan (SBP)
 2 June
Communications Regulators' Association of Southern Africa (CRASA)
24 – 25 May
Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA)
12 – ​13 April
State Bank of Pakistan (SBP)
12 – ​13 April ​
​​East Africa​
East African Communications Organisation (EACO)
​30 – ​31 March ​
​​​Postal & Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (POTRAZ)​​
16 – 17 February 
​Postal & Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (POTRAZ)​
​9 – ​10 February 



​ ​ ​ ​
​Malawi Communications Regulatory Authority (MACRA)​
​7 – ​8 December  
​Eswatini Communications Commission (ESCCOM)
​​29 – 30 November 
​Nigerian​ Communications Commission (NCC)
​17 – 18 November 
​Postal & Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (POTRAZ)​
27 – 28​ October 
Institut Supérieur des Etudes Technologiques en Communications de Tunis (ISET’COM)​​​
22 –  23 October 
Malawi Communications Regulatory Authority (MACRA)​​
12 – 14 October ​

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this webinar series were those of the panelists and do not reflect the official policy or position of the ITU.​​​​​