Committed to connecting the world


ITU Workshop on "The Future of Television for South Asia, Arab and Africa Regions"

​​​​​​​Bangalore, India​​​​​​

9:30 -18:00 IST

The ​Internati​onal Telecommunication Union (ITU)  is organizing the ITU Workshop on “The Future of Television for South Asia, Arab and Africa Regions”, taking place in Bangalore, India, on 11 May 2023 from 0930 to 1800 hours (IST) at the kind invitation of the Ministry of Communications, Government of India and hosted at the Indian Institute of Science, Central Office (Main building), Amra Marg, Bangalore. ​Remote participation will be provided for this workshop.

The aim of the workshop is to discuss the future of television for South Asia, Arab and Africa regions with relevant stakeholders, covering regulatory and policy frameworks, emerging and convergent ICT Infrastructures and services, as well as user interfaces and human factors issues. It also provides an opportunity to discuss TV-related regional and international standardization and to share best practices and case studies on TV implementations over various media as well as new TV services. This event continues the successful ITU-series of thematic workshops exploring the Future of TV in the various regions of the world and is jointly organized by the three Sectors of the ITU namely: Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB), Radiocommunication Bureau (BR) and Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT).  

Previous editions can be found below: ​

​The workshop will be co-located with the ITU-T SG9 meeting, taking place from 9-18 May 2023 (see TSB Collective Letter 2/9​), and will contribute to the workflow of several ITU Study Groups, namely:
Participation is open to ITU Member States, Sector Members, Associates, ITU Academia and to any individual from a country which is a member of the ITU and who wishes to contribute to the work. This also includes individuals who are members of international, regional, and national organizations. Participation in the workshop is free of charge.
See detailed steps on how to register here.​


Register here​

Remote Participation: To access the virtual room, connect to our Restricted Virtual Events platform (using your ITU USER Account used for your registration).
The event will be listed with an “OPEN” link to connect to the zoom session. 






Co-hosted by