Committed to connecting the world

Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
Kyung Hee University (Korea (Rep. of))
University College of Bahrain (Bahrain)
State University of Telecommunication (Ukraine)
N-SOFT Technology SA (Mali)
Romanian Maritime Training Centre - CERONAV (Romania)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
Centre de Recherche en Numérique de Sfax (Tunisia)
Fondazione Ugo Bordoni (Italy)
Colegio de Ingenieros Mecánicos y Electricistas, A.C. (Mexico)
Gallaudet University (United States)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Higher Colleges of Technology (United Arab Emirates)
ADD International (Bangladesh)
Lodz University of Technology (Poland)
China International Telecommunication Construction Corporati (China)
World University of Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Rep.)
Instituto Especializado de Estudios Superiores Loyola (Dominican Rep.)
Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (Korea (Rep. of))
University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Bournemouth University (United Kingdom)
The University of Zambia School of Natural Sciences (Zambia)
Bharat Broadband Network Limited (India)
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
Mastercard Worldwide (United States)
Panasonic Corporation (Japan)
Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)
Iran University of Science & Technology (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Agence Ivoirienne de Gestion des Fréquences (AIGF) (Côte d
Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (United States)
Millicom (United Kingdom)
Cryptosoft Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Chongqing University (China)
Birkbeck College University of London (United Kingdom)
Colegio Oficial de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación (Spain)
Bangkok University (Thailand)
Facebook (United States)
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and (Croatia)
OneWeb (United Kingdom)
Chulalongkorn University, Faculty of Engineering (Thailand)



LINK Centre, University of the Witwatersrand

The LINK Centre at the Faulty of Humanities, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, is the premier public interest research and teaching centre on ICT policy and regulation in Southern Africa, and has been in operation since 1999. It has conducted research on ICT policy, regulation and infrastructure; on e-development, e-governance, broadband policy; universal access and service, regulating for consumer protection; fair access to Internet; the performance of the ICT sector; household and SME ICT access and usage (see for more detail). It offers a Master of Arts in ICT Policy and Regulation, a Certificate in Telecomms Policy, Regulation and Management, and a Certificate in CIO Practice. LINK is associated with a local and international network of high calibre academics with many years of experience.

CategoryEducation & Research
Based inSouth Africa (Republic of)
ITU Global DirectoryLINK Centre, University of the Witwatersrand
Ms. Lucienne Abrahams

Luci Abrahams is Director of the LINK Centre and publishes on e-development, e-governance, innovation systems, and ICT policy and regulation. She has written ICT policy for provincial and local government in South Africa and contributed to policy formulation at national level. She is currently preparing a research report for the regulator, ICASA. She has worked as an academic and as a senior manager in government over an extended period. She has a deep understanding of policy-making in a variety of contexts and has served in senior positions in the public sector over the last sixteen years, including serving on the Boards of the Development Bank of Southern Africa, the National Research Foundation, the Council on Higher Education, and as Council Member on the National Advisory Council on Innovation. She currently serves as a Councillor on the Financial and Fiscal Commission.