Committed to connecting the world

European Broadcasting Union
Palestine Telecommunication Company (Paltel Group)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
Caribbean Telecommunications Union
Universiti Sains Malaysia (Malaysia)
International Federation for Information Processing [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
Arab Private Broadcasting Union [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
Emirates Telecommunication Corporation - Etisalat
Cellular Operators Association of India (COAI) [OTHER ENTITY] (India (Republic of))
The Boeing Company
Mobily Company [ROA] (Saudi Arabia (Kingdom of))
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
International Air Transport Association (International)
4G Americas
Thuraya Telecommunications Company [ROA] (United Arab Emirates)
Nuix Technology UK Limited (United Kingdom)
Dominic Foundation [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
University Utara Malaysia (Malaysia)
SEACOM Ltd (Kenya)
Algérie Télécom SPA
KT Corporation
Joint Stock Telecommunications Company
Autorité de Régulation de la Poste et des Télécommunications (ARPT)
American Registry for Internet Numbers (ARIN)
Secretariat of the Pacific Community [REGINTORG] (Fiji (Republic of))
The ITU Association of Japan
Dynamic Spectrum Alliance (International)
Hitachi, Ltd.



African Union

African Union (AU) was created on by the Sirte Declaration calling for the establishment of an African Union, to enable it play its rightful role in the global economy while addressing multifaceted social, economic and political problems. The main objectives of the OAU were, inter alia, to rid the continent of the remaining vestiges of colonization and apartheid; to promote unity and solidarity among African States; to coordinate and intensify cooperation for development; to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Member States and to promote international cooperation within the framework of the United Nations.

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inEthiopia (Federal Democratic Republic of)
ITU Global DirectoryAfrican Union
AU Commission Chairperson    
H.E Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma

Dr Dlamini Zuma is a lady of noble character; a visionary leader, with an incredible passion for the African continent, its developmental ambitions, and is a champion of the renewal of Africa. Dr Dlamini Zuma boasts extensive experience on African Union matters and has demonstrated depth and good understanding of our African continent, as well as an exceptional grasp of the unique dynamics that characterise the AU. She has also, over the years, earned the respect and enjoys a warm rapport with her peers in the AU and the international community at large. Working as part of the then Organisation for the African Unity (OAU) collective, she participated in a number of OAU delegations as a midwife to peace, stability, development and prosperity to the African continent. She has also led a number of peace and security initiatives to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC); the Union of the Comoros; the Kingdom of Lesotho, to mention but a few. The year 2012 will mark the 10th anniversary of the AU. Then years on, we can be proud of the great strides our organization and indeed the continent has made in addressing the manifold challenges that exist. Whilst we draw inspiration from these achievements we have to remain resilient and deploy even greater efforts in positioning Africa as a dynamic global player on the world stage. In this regard the Au has the responsibility to rightfully position the African continent within this dynamic environment and implement its vision to “build an integrated Africa, a prosperous and peaceful Africa, driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in the international arena.” In order to achieve this vision and the objectives of the AU, it is imperative that, as we will mark the 10th anniversary of the AU, we take stock of achievements to date, identify prevailing challenges and redouble our efforts in addressing these issues whilst taking the developmental agenda forward. A woman of great strength and vision, Dr Dlamini Zuma has held various high-level portfolios in the South African Government, i.e. the Minister of Health (1994-1999); Minister of Foreign Affairs (1999-2009) and ; is currently serving as Minister of Home Affairs. During her tenure as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr Dlamini Zuma tirelessly invested her intellect, vision and energies, as part of the African collective in pursuit of creating a better Africa and a better world for all. In recognition of her abilities and in pursuance of this noble objective of creating a better Africa in a better world for all, she was amongst others elected President of the UN World Conference against Racism (WCAR); Chairperson of the AU Ministers’ Council (during South Africa’s tenure as Chair of the AU); President of the Minister’s Council for the recently held UN World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) at which she also led the negotiations on behalf of former South African President Thabo Mbeki. Dr Dlamini Zuma’s impressive academic life has been equally expansive and spans two continents- having obtained degrees in South African at the Universities of Zululand (BSC Zoology and Botany, 1971) and the former Natal during 1972-1976; and Universities of Bristol in England (MBCHB medical degree, 1978) and Liverpool, School of Tropical Medicine (Post Graduate Diploma in Tropical Child Health, 1986). As a stalwart of the African Nation Congress (ANC), Dr Dlamini Zuma has served the organization assiduously in various capacities. Her steadfast commitment to the AUC saw her elected to the position of Vice Chairperson, Regional Political Committee, Great Britain between 1978 and 1988, and later became its Chairperson from 1988-1989. In addition she tirelessly served comrades in exile at various hospitals across Africa and in Great Britain. As a member of the National Executive Committee and the ANC Women’s League, she continues to serve the organization that lead a democratic regime intend on improving the lives of the ordinary masses and return their natural and inherent pride as human beings.