Committed to connecting the world

European Competitive Telecommunications Association
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
East African Community
Etihad Atheeb Telecom (EATC)
China Unicom
Centro de Investigación Cientifica y de Educación Superior d (Mexico)
George Mason University (United States)
Centre d
Bharti Airtel Limited
Autorité de Régulation de la Poste et des Télécommunications (ARPT)
Bahrain Telecommunications Company (Batelco)
THALES Communications [SIO] (France)
Dialog Axiata PLC (Sri Lanka)
Telefónica, S.A.
Colombia Telecomunicaciones S.A. E.S.P. (Colombia)
MTN Syria [ROA] (Syrian Arab Republic)
JandJ Group (South Africa)
OneWeb (United Kingdom)
International Union of Radio Science [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
Telecom Centres of Excellence (TCOE) India (India)
Economic Community for West African States (International)
Telenor ASA [ROA] (Norway)
Alcatel-Lucent France [SIO] (France)
International Electrotechnical Commission [REGINTORG] ()
SUNY Korea (Korea (Rep. of))
Lockheed Martin Corporation (LMC)
Oman Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA)
CMPak Limited (Pakistan)
Universidad Tecnologica Nacional (Argentina)
Mattel (Mauritania)



East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organization comprising the five east African countries Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda. The organization is headquartered in Arusha. The EAC is one of the pillars of the African Economic Community. The EAC is a potential precursor to the establishment of the East African Federation, a proposed federation of its five members into a single state. In 2010, the EAC launched its own common market for goods, labor and capital within the region, with the goal of a common currency by 2012 and full political federation in 2015.

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inTanzania (United Republic of)
ITU Global DirectoryEast African Community
Secretary General    
Richard Sezibera

The Summit of the East African Community Heads of State meeting in Dar es Salaam on 19 April 2011 appointed Dr. Richard Sezibera, as Secretary General of the East African Community for a five-year term. Prior to his appointment, Dr. Sezibera served as Minister of Health of the Republic of Rwanda (October 2008 - April 2011).

Dr. Sezibera has served in many capacities in the Rwandan government, including Ambassador to the U.S., Presidential Special Envoy to the Great Lakes Region, and Senior Advisor to the President of Rwanda, where he worked on peace and security, conflict management and resolution, and regional integration issues.

Dr. Sezibera graduated with Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degrees and has practiced medicine for many years in Uganda and Rwanda. He also has a Master of Arts in Liberal Studies from Georgetown University. He is the author of many journal publications in the field of politics and international affairs.