Committed to connecting the world

Carnegie Mellon University Africa (Rwanda)
MIT World Peace University (India)
American Tower Corporation (United States)
Omnispace, LLC (United States)
Iranian Net Communication & Electronic Services Co. (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Institute of Acoustics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
Arab States Research and Education Network - ASREN (International)
Anglia Ruskin University (United Kingdom)
Center for Study of Science, Technology and Policy (India)
World Economic Forum LLC (United States)
Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology (Egypt)
Monenco Iran (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Bahamas Telecommunications Company (Bahamas)
International Sailing Schools Association (International)
CISD, SOAS University of London (United Kingdom)
Norwegian Research Center for Computers and Law (Norway)
Universidad de las Américas (Ecuador)
Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University (Russian Federation)
University of Nigeria (Nigeria)
SUNY Korea (Korea (Rep. of))
Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (State University (Russian Federation)
Faculty of Applied Science of Post and Telecommunication (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Consortium of Cloud Computing Research (Korea (Rep. of))
University of the Philippines (Philippines)
Soonchunhyang University (Korea (Rep. of))
Guilab (Guinea)
Kanazawa Institute of Technology (Japan)
Institute of Computing Technology Chinese Academy of Science (China)
Multimedia University (Malaysia)
Daffodil International University (Bangladesh)
Le Consortium du Service Universel (Senegal)
Escuela Politécnica Nacional (Ecuador)
Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul (LABEL (Brazil)
Ajman University of Science and Technology (United Arab Emirates)
Royal Holloway, University of London (United Kingdom)
Grenoble Ecole de Management (France)
VEON Ltd. (Netherlands)
Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. (Korea (Rep. of))
Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina (Argentina)
Universidad de Belgrano (Argentina)
National Law University Delhi (India)
Universitaria Agustiniana (Colombia)
Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)



Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority

The Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL)is the regulatory body for telecommunications in five Eastern
Caribbean States— Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. ECTEL which was established in May 2000 by Treaty and consists of A Council of Ministers (made up of the Ministers responsible for Telecommunications in the ECTEL states, and the Director General of the OECS), a regional Directorate with a Board of Directors(comprising one member and an alternate from each Member State and the Managing Director of ECTEL); and a National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (NTRC) in each Member State. The National Telecommunications Regulatory Commissions (NTRCs) are the Telecommunications regulators at the national level in each Member State.

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inSaint Lucia
ITU Global DirectoryEastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority
Mr Charles Embert

Embert Charles, a national of Saint Lucia, is the Managing Director of the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL).  He began his working life as a journalist in the public broadcasting sector and also worked in the areas of agricultural extension and the use of information technology in primary health care public awareness.  He is a graduate of the University of the West Indies with a degree in Communications/Social Sciences and a Masters degree (Distinction) in Regulation and Policy (MRP) – Telecommunications.


Mr. Charles also possesses a Master of Philosophy in Development Studies from the University of Sussex.  He has pursued specialised training in Communications Policy Studies at City University London, and in Regulatory Policy and Strategy at the University of Florida.


He was the Director of Information Services in the Government of Saint Lucia, and was Communications Advisor/Public Awareness Consultant with the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).  Mr. Charles worked in the areas of language development and cultural research and development in the Eastern Caribbean for over a decade.


In his capacity as Director of Information Services, he provided communication policy advice and public relations strategy for the Government of Saint Lucia.  He managed the Government’s public information programmes and broadcasts, and was also responsible for the regulation of the broadcasting sector along with other agencies.


From 2004, Mr. Charles served as a Director of the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority, which has responsibility for the regulation of the liberalised telecommunications environment in the five Member States of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.  He was appointed Managing Director from 2008 and his responsibilities include supervision of the policy recommendations of the regulatory authority and the management of the national and regional telecommunications resources in the jurisdiction.