Committed to connecting the world

Hewlett-Packard International SA (Switzerland)
International Telecommunications Users Group [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
Hubei University (China)
The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics
Symantec Corporation [SIO] (United States of America)
European Competitive Telecommunications Association
Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd. (MTNL)
Irancell Telecommunication Services Company
Iranian Net Communication & Electronic Services Co. (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
OpenTLD B.V. (Netherlands)
MEO - Serviços de Comunicações e Multimédia, S.A. (Portugal)
Mascom Wireless Botswana (Pty) Ltd.
Omnispace, LLC (United States)
Atlantique Télécom Côte d
Econet Telecom Lesotho (Pty) Ltd (ETL) (Lesotho)
Groupe Défis & Stratégies
Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
ATDI (France)
Gateway Gulf LLC (Bahrain)
Awal Telecommunications Corporation Ltd. (Papua New Guinea)
United Telecommunication Services (UTS)
China Unicom
Electronia, Ltd.
VEON Ltd. (Netherlands)
Société Nationale des Télécommunications du Sénégal (SONATEL)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
European Union
International Union of Radio Science [REGINTORG] (International (no specific country))
Advanced Wireless Network Company Limited (Thailand)



International Electrotechnical Commission

The IEC produces International Standards and conducts conformity assessment for the millions of objects, systems or machines that contain electronics or use/ produce electricity in any form. Examples of technologies covered by IEC International Standards and assessments: power generation, transmission, distribution, including all renewable energy sources; batteries, lighting, home appliances, office and medical equipments, all public and private transportation, semiconductors, fibre optics, nanotechnology, multimedia, information technology, and more.
Over 10’000 experts in 173 Technical Committees with over 1000 working groups
Over 13’000 standards published since inception
Over 6000 standards in catalogue today
Over 300’000 conformity certificates established
Founded in 1906 in London
159 member countries and affiliates
Head office: Geneva.

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inSwitzerland (Confederation of)
ITU Global DirectoryInternational Electrotechnical Commission
President and CEO    
Dr Klaus Wucherer

Dr Wucherer became IEC President on 1 January 2011, for a three-year term. He was President of the German National Committee until 2008 and, having been president of VDE - the German Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies - from 2003 to 2005, remained a member of the supervisory board until 2009. He worked for Siemens for more than 30 years, serving as a member of the executive committee in the later years. Until 2011 he was chairman of the board for Infineon Technologies AG, at present he holds a board position at Fraunhofer Institut and is a board member at several other companies.

The IEC President represents the Commission and is the Chairman of Council , the CB (Council Board) and the ExCo (Executive Committee) as well as the MSB (Market Strategy Board). The President serves a three-year term and cannot be re-elected.