Committed to connecting the world

Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
Kyung Hee University (Korea (Rep. of))
University College of Bahrain (Bahrain)
State University of Telecommunication (Ukraine)
N-SOFT Technology SA (Mali)
Romanian Maritime Training Centre - CERONAV (Romania)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
Centre de Recherche en Numérique de Sfax (Tunisia)
Fondazione Ugo Bordoni (Italy)
Colegio de Ingenieros Mecánicos y Electricistas, A.C. (Mexico)
Gallaudet University (United States)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Higher Colleges of Technology (United Arab Emirates)
ADD International (Bangladesh)
Lodz University of Technology (Poland)
China International Telecommunication Construction Corporati (China)
World University of Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Rep.)
Instituto Especializado de Estudios Superiores Loyola (Dominican Rep.)
Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (Korea (Rep. of))
University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Bournemouth University (United Kingdom)
The University of Zambia School of Natural Sciences (Zambia)
Bharat Broadband Network Limited (India)
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
Mastercard Worldwide (United States)
Panasonic Corporation (Japan)
Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)
Iran University of Science & Technology (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Agence Ivoirienne de Gestion des Fréquences (AIGF) (Côte d
Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (United States)
Millicom (United Kingdom)
Cryptosoft Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Chongqing University (China)
Birkbeck College University of London (United Kingdom)
Colegio Oficial de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación (Spain)
Bangkok University (Thailand)
Facebook (United States)
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and (Croatia)
OneWeb (United Kingdom)
Chulalongkorn University, Faculty of Engineering (Thailand)



Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union

The Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) is a non-profit, non-government, professional association of broadcasting organisations, formed in 1964 to facilitate the development of broadcasting in the Asia-Pacific region. It provides a forum for promoting the collective interests of television and radio broadcasters, and engages in activities to encourage regional and international cooperation between broadcasters. It currently has nearly 200 members in 58 countries, with its broadcaster members reaching a potential audience of about 3 billion people.
The ABU is the third largest of the world's eight broadcasting unions, but covers the largest geographic area of the world.
The ABU works closely with the other regional broadcasting unions, and with many other international organisations, on matters of common concern. For more information, please visit

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inMalaysia
ITU Global DirectoryAsia-Pacific Broadcasting Union
Javad Mottaghi

Dr Javad Mottaghi is the Secretary-General of the ABU. He was appointed on 8 January 2010 and assumed office on 3 May 2010. Before joining the ABU, he was Director of the Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD) for 12 years.

He has 32 years of national and international experience in media/communication in the following areas: international affairs, media/communication development and broadcasting, AV productions and co-production, ICTs, capacity building, networking, research, publications, negotiations, fund raising, news and programming for radio and television, social and cultural television programmes and sports coverage.

Dr Mottaghi has vast experience in broadcasting, having served Iran’s national broadcaster Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB) in various capacities especially in the field of sports, production and news.

He was the Director of Radio and TV Sports Department of IRIB for 18 years. While at IRIB, Dr Mottaghi also held the directorships of the Foreign Bureau and International Relations Department, TV Social Department, News Department as well as Advisor to the President of IRIB.

Dr Mottaghi was awarded Elizabeth R Award for Exceptional Contribution to Public Service Broadcasting. The award was presented by the Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA) during the CBA General Assembly in Tonga on 11 February 2009.

He has been closely working with all broadcasting unions such and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), the Arab States Broadcasting Union (ASBU), the Southern African Broadcasting Association (SABA), the Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA) and the African Union of Broadcasting (AUB).

He was also Liaison Officer for the ABU and the EBU and other unions until 1996. In addition, he was a member of the ABU Administrative Council for three years as well as Chairman of the ABU Sports Study Group, Chairman of the ABU Olympic Sub-Group, Chairman of the World Football Cup Sub-Group, Chairman of the Asian Games Sub-Group and a member of the Negotiating Team for TV Rights for the World Football Cup, Asian Games and the Olympics for several years.

Dr Mottaghi has also served as a part-time Assistant Professor in Sports at the University of Tehran since 1978. In the field of conference management, Dr Mottaghi has a string of credentials under his belt. He was Conference Manager for a number of international radio and television seminars. Despite his heavy duties and responsibilities, Dr Mottaghi managed to find time to function as Adviser to the Industry Development and Renovation Organization (IDRO), Advisor to the Minister of Culture and Islamic Guidance on Tourism from 1995-1998, the Executive Commissioner, Qeshm Free Zone and Deputy Minister of Iran for Sports and Federations from 1989-1992.

He is a member of the board for the World Radio & Television Council (WRTVC) since 2001. Dr Mottaghi is currently Associate member of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in New York and a member of The International Academy of Television and Radio in Russia since December 2002.

He holds a Ph.D. in Management from the University of Teesside in England. He also holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Tehran Sharif University of Technology and a Master’s degree in Management.

Dr Mottaghi is married with three children.