Committed to connecting the world

Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
Kyung Hee University (Korea (Rep. of))
University College of Bahrain (Bahrain)
State University of Telecommunication (Ukraine)
N-SOFT Technology SA (Mali)
Romanian Maritime Training Centre - CERONAV (Romania)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
Centre de Recherche en Numérique de Sfax (Tunisia)
Fondazione Ugo Bordoni (Italy)
Colegio de Ingenieros Mecánicos y Electricistas, A.C. (Mexico)
Gallaudet University (United States)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Higher Colleges of Technology (United Arab Emirates)
ADD International (Bangladesh)
Lodz University of Technology (Poland)
China International Telecommunication Construction Corporati (China)
World University of Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Rep.)
Instituto Especializado de Estudios Superiores Loyola (Dominican Rep.)
Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (Korea (Rep. of))
University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Bournemouth University (United Kingdom)
The University of Zambia School of Natural Sciences (Zambia)
Bharat Broadband Network Limited (India)
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
Mastercard Worldwide (United States)
Panasonic Corporation (Japan)
Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)
Iran University of Science & Technology (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Agence Ivoirienne de Gestion des Fréquences (AIGF) (Côte d
Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (United States)
Millicom (United Kingdom)
Cryptosoft Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Chongqing University (China)
Birkbeck College University of London (United Kingdom)
Colegio Oficial de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación (Spain)
Bangkok University (Thailand)
Facebook (United States)
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and (Croatia)
OneWeb (United Kingdom)
Chulalongkorn University, Faculty of Engineering (Thailand)



Asia-Pacific Telecommunity

The Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT) is a leading intergovernmental organisation for the development of telecommunications and ICT in the Asia-Pacific region. APT was established by ESCAP and ITU in July 1979 with the objective to promote the development of telecommunications and ICT services in the Asia-Pacific region, with particular emphasis on the developing countries. APT facilitates and supports regional cooperation by engaging decision-makers in government, business and other sectors in the development and implementation of policies that are beneficial to the telecommunication and ICT sectors in the region. Currently, the APT has a strength of 38 Full Members, 4 Associate Members and 131 Affiliate Members. The headquarters of the APT is located in Bangkok. Further information about APT is available at APT website,

CategoryInternational Organisations
Based inThailand
ITU Global DirectoryAsia-Pacific Telecommunity
Secretary General    
Toshiyuki Yamada

Mr. Toshiyuki Yamada of Japan, Secretary General of APT, brings to his post 35 years of service both in national and international stage.


Mr. Yamada’s long tenure with the Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications of Japan (presently MIC) included responsibility for a variety of portfolios, including , Deputy Director of International Policy Division, Senior Advisor of International Affairs Department and Director of International Cooperation Division. Mr. Yamada also had extensive international experience including his postings as the First Secretary to the permanent Mission of Japan in Geneva, Special Advisor to the President of the Conference ITU Plenipotentiary Conference 1994 in Kyoto, and Convenor of the Liberalization Steering Group of the APEC Telecommunications WG (APECTEL).

Mr. Yamada has longstanding ties with APT, dating back to 1999, when he was the Vice Chairman of the APT Management Committee. He was later elected Chairman of the APT Management Committee in 2000. Mr. Yamada served as the Director-General of the Institute for Information and Communications Policy, Ministry of International Affairs and Communications (MIC) before he was elected Deputy Executive Director of APT in 2005. Mr. Yamada was elected Secretary General of APT at the 31st Session of the APT Management Committee in 2007. He was re-elected for a 3-year term at the 11th Session of the APT General Assembly in 2008. At APT, his guiding vision has forged APT towards the forefront of telecom and ICT development in the Asia Pacific region, leading to a significant growth of APT membership. Mr. Yamada has also actively improved APT Human Resource Development Programme (HRD), reinforced regional coordination for ITU conferences  as well as enhanced efficient management of the APT.