United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

Cover image for UNECA

The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) was established in 1958 by ECOSOC res. 671A (XXV) (1958), and is one of five regional commissions under the administrative direction of UN Headquarters. As the regional arm of the UN in Africa, it is mandated to support the economic and social development of its 53 Member States, foster regional integration and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

Its work programme focuses on two areas:

  • Promoting regional integration in support of the African Union vision and priorities
  • Meeting Africa's special needs and emerging global challenges.

The Commission is organised around seven substantive programme clusters:

  • African Centre for Statistics
  • Food security and sustainable development
  • Gender and social development
  • Governance and public administration
  • ICT and science technology
  • New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) and regional integration
  • Trade, finance and economic development.

Five sub-regional offices contribute to the work programme and support outreach.

ECA has established the following subsidiary bodies:

  • Committee on Women and Development
  • Committee on Development Information
  • Committee on Sustainable Development
  • Committee on Human Development and Civil Society
  • Committee on Industry and Private Sector Development
  • Committee on Natural Resources and Science and Technology
  • Committee on Regional Cooperation and Integration.

Links & attachments

  • Official Website
  • Please note some attachments are only available to UNGIS members.