Committed to connecting the world

ICTs for a Sustainable World #ICT4SDG

Countries In Special Need

Countries Emerging from War and Armed Conflicts

Currently, there are 12 countries categorized by ITU as 'Countries in Special Need'. These are countries that have gone through periods of armed conflict, civil strife or war and suffered a lot of destruction to their telecommunication infrastructure.
ITU provides seed money for the reconstruction of the damaged networks and is continuously seeking partners willing to co-finance projects in these countries.
Projects are primarily in four key areas:
  • Development of Infrastructure and Introduction of New Technologies
  • Development of Rural Telecommunications
  • Sector Restructuring
  • Human Resources Development/Management
Below is a complete list of countries falling in this category:
  • Afghanistan,
  • Burundi,
  • Democratic Republic of Congo,
  • Timor-Leste
  • Eritrea,
  • Ethiopia,
  • Guinea,
  • Guinea Bissau,
  • Liberia,
  • Somalia,
  • Rwanda,
  • Sierra Leone