Page 2 - Enhancing innovation and participation in smart sustainable cities
P. 2


            This publication on “Enhancing innovation and participation in smart sustainable cities” has been developed
            within the framework of the United for Smart Sustainable Cities (U4SSC) initiative. This publication provides
            a series of case studies on smart governance, smart people and smart economy, which will catapult successful
            smart city practices into the global spotlight.

            This publication has been researched and written by Okan Geray (Smart Dubai Office) and Kari Aina Eik
            (Organization for International Economic Relations (OiER)) H. E. Dr. Aisha Bin Bishr, H.E. Mr. Younus Al Nasser
            and Zeina El Kaissi (Smart Dubai Office); H.E. Mr. Wesam Lootah (Smart Dubai Government Establishment);
            Younghoon  Choi,  Jeongjun  Ahn,  Gyeonggeun  Ma,  Younghyun  Cho  and  Jihyun  Kim  (Seoul  Metropolitan
            Government), Earl Burgos (WeGO), Kevin Wee and Gabriel Chan (Info-communications Media Development
            Authority of Singapore), Rik Wouters (Vice-chair of the UNECE Working Party on Land Administration), Zeina
            El Kaissi (Smart Dubai Office),Vimal Wakhlu (ITU-APT Foundation), Igor Kos (City of Maribor, Slovenia), Martin
            Stadelmann (South Pole Group) and Mariano Mejía Valenzuela (South Pole Group).
            The authors wish to thank the U4SSC management team, Gloria Placer Maruri and Nasser Al Marzouqi (U4SSC
            Co-chairmen) and Victoria Sukenik and Paolo Gemma (U4SSC Vice-chairmen) for their respective assistance
            and contributions.

            The  authors  also  wish  to  extend  their  gratitude  to  the  contributing  organizations  along  with  their
            representatives: Oliver Hillel from the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), Lucy Winchester and Vera
            Kiss from the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), Simone Borelli from the
            Food  and  Agriculture  Organization  (FAO),  Cristina  Bueti,  Mythili  Menon  and  Reyna  Ubeda  from  the
            International  Telecommunication  Union  (ITU),  Iryna  Usava  from  the  United  Nations  Development
            Programme (UNDP), James Murombedzi from the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA),
            Ivonne Higuero and Domenica Carriero from the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE),
            Guilherme Canela from the Regional Bureau for Sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean of the United
            Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Martina Otto and Garrigan Curt from
            United Nations Environment (UN Environment), Maria Atkinson Am and Gary Pivo from the United Nations
            Environment  Programme  Finance  Initiative  (UNEP-FI),  Motsomi  Maletjane  from  the  United  Nations
            Framework Convention for Climate Change (UNFCCC), Andre Dzikus, Tania Lim, Jean Yves and Robert Lewis
            from  the  United  Nations  Human  Settlements  Programme  (UN-Habitat),  Pradeep  Monga,  Toni  Lim  and
            Katarina  Barunica  from  the  United  Nations  Industrial  Development  Organization  (UNIDO),  Nuno  Lopes,
            Soumaya Ben Dhaou and Morten Meyerhoff Nielsen from the United Nations University – Operating Unit on
            Policy-Driven Electronic Governance (UNU-EGOV), and Alexander Baklanov from the World Meteorological
            Organization (WMO).

            The opinions expressed in this publication are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the
            views of their respective organizations or members.

                  © CBD, ECLAC, FAO, ITU, UNDP, UNECA, UNECE, UNESCO, UN Environment, UNEP-FI, UNFCCC,
                                         UN-Habitat, UNIDO, UNU-EGOV, and WMO.

            978-92-61-25341-7 (paper version)
            978-92-61-25351-6 (electronic version)
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7