United Nations  International Telecommunication Union  




 WSIS PrepCom Bureau for the Tunis Phase

The governments participating in WSIS have agreed on the composition of the new Bureau of the Preparatory Committee for the Tunis phase. The provisional Bureau decided to raise the number of countries per region to six. Further to this decision and to regional consultations on the matter, the five regions designated their representatives to serve in the new provisional PrepCom Bureau for the Tunis Phase:

  • Asia Region: Bangladesh, China, Japan, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia
  • Latin America and Caribbean Region: Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Nicaragua, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela
  • Africa Region: Egypt, Kenya, Libya, Mali, Senegal, Zambia
  • Western Europe and North America Region: Canada, France, Greece, Norway, Spain, United States
  • Eastern Europe Region: Armenia, Belarus, Hungary, Latvia, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro
  • Ex-officio members (host countries): Switzerland and Tunisia

In its new composition, the provisional WSIS PrepCom Bureau met for the first time on 19 March 2004. The composition of the PrepCom Bureau for the Tunis phase, as well as its President (Ambassador Janis Karklins), were formally approved during the Preparatory Meeting that took place in Hammamet (Tunisia) from 24-26 June 2004.


  • 10 June 2004
    At its meeting of 10 June 2004, the provisional governmental Bureau of the Tunis phase nominated Ambassador Janis Karklins from Latvia as candidate for the Presidency of the Preparatory Committee. The final decision on the Presidency of the Preparatory Committee of the Tunis phase will be taken at the first Plenary of PrepCom-1 in Hammamet.
  • 29 April 2004
    The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Latvia sent a letter to the ITU Secretary-General announcing officially the candidature of Ambassador Janis Karklins for the post of Chairperson of the Preparatory Committee of the Tunis phase.
  • 31 March 2004
    At the meeting of the provisional Bureau of PrepCom, Mr Adama Samassékou, President of the Preparatory Committee of the Geneva phase, read out the Declaration of Mali which expressed the decision of the government of Mali to renounce to a candidacy for the Chairmanship of the Preparatory Committee of the Tunis phase of the WSIS.
 WSIS PrepCom Bureau for the Geneva Phase

During the Geneva Phase, at its first session in July 2002, PrepCom elected one President (Adama Samassékou) and fourteen Vice-Presidents (three representatives from each of the UNGA regions), and two more ex officio from the host countries, Switzerland and Tunisia). Together with Committee President , they constituted the Bureau of PrepCom for the first phase of the WSIS with the mandate to give guidance to the Preparatory Committee on procedural matters. The Bureau members were drawn from the following countries: Republic of South Africa, Brunei Darussalam, Brazil, Dominican Republic, United States of America, Finland, France, Latvia, Libya, Mali, Mexico, Romania, Japan, Pakistan, Russia, Switzerland and Tunisia.



basic information | first phase: Geneva | second phase: Tunis | stocktaking | newsroom | links

Top - Copyright © WSIS 2015 All Rights Reserved - Logo Policy
Privacy Notices
Updated : 2004-07-02