Committed to connecting the world

ICTs for a Sustainable World #ICT4SDG


Small Island Developing States (SIDS) were identified as a special group during the 1992 Earth Summit and subsequently a number of internationally agreed development goals have been formulated to specifically address SIDS vulnerabilities and to build resistance and sustainability. Currently, fifty-one small island developing States and territories are known collectively as Small Island Developing States (SIDS). They share similar sustainable development challenges, which include small population, limited resources, remoteness, susceptibility to natural disasters, vulnerability to external shocks, and excessive dependence on international trade. These low-lying coastal countries and small islands are subject to structural vulnerability that affects their productivity, development and cooperation policies. Their growth and development is often further stymied by high communication and transportation costs, disproportionately expensive public administration and infrastructure due to their small size. ​​​
​Eleven of the SIDS are also categorized as least developed countries (LDCs). These are:
  • Cape Verde,
  • Comoros,
  • Guinea-Bissau,
  • Haiti,
  • Kiribati,
  • Maldives,
  • Samoa,
  • Sao Tome and Principe,
  • Solomon Islands,
  • Tuvalu,
  • and Vanuatu
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Cape Verde***
  • Comoros***
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Guinea-Bissau***
  • Guyana
  • Haiti***
  • Jamaica
  • Kiribati***
  • Maldives***
  • Marshall Islands
  • ​​Mauritius
  • Micronesia (Fed. States of)
  • ​​Nauru
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia Samoa***
  • Sao Tome and Principe***
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands***
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu***
*** SIDS that are also LDCs
Total (35)