ITU Kaleidoscope 2015

Trust in the Information Society

Best Paper Awards and Young Author Recognition Ceremony

Alessia Magliarditi
ITU Kaleidoscope Coordinator

Barcelona, Spain 9-11 December 2015

Award Committee Five distinguished conference attendees

➤ AC Chair: Kai Jakobs (RWTH Aachen University, Germany; Kaleidoscope Technical Programme Committee Chair)

> AC Members:

- 1. Martin Adolph (ITU Kaleidoscope Technical Adviser)
- 2. Christoph Dosch (ITU-R Study Group 6 Chairman; IRT GmbH, Germany; Kaleidoscope SC member)
- 3. Mostafa Hashem Sherif (AT&T, USA; Kaleidoscope SC member)
- 4. Remo Suppi (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain; Kaleidoscope Host Committee member)

Best Paper Awards

- □ First paper: 5000 USD
- Second paper: 3000 USD
- □ Third Paper: 2000 USD

Criteria

- 1 Clarity
- 2 Relevance to the conference theme
- 3 Relevance to standards

4 - Presentation

Eight nominees

Best ranking papers that were recommended for best paper award by the Technical Programme Committee (double-blind/peer review process) and Steering Committee.

Eight candidates

- □ Three in **Track 1** (Trust in technology and network infrastructure)
- No one in Track 2 (Trustworthy applications and services)
- □ Five in **Track 3** (Social, economic and policy aspects of trustworthy ICTs)

Session	Title of paper	Presenter	Co-authors
Session	Title of paper	resenter	co dutilors
2.1	Raising trust in security products and systems through standardisation and certification: the CRISP approach	Irene Kamara (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)	Thordis Sveinsdottir Simone Wurster
3.1	Regulation and Standardization of Data Protection in Cloud Computing	Martin Löhe (Technical University Berlin & Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany)	Knut Blind
5.2	Proactive-caching based Information Centric Networking Architecture for Reliable Green Communication in Intelligent Transport System	Takuro Sato (Waseda University, Japan)	Quang Ngoc Nguyen, Mohammad Arifuzzaman
5.3	Network Failure Detection System for Traffic Control using Social Information in Large-Scale Disasters	Chihiro Maru (Ochanomizu Universiy, Japan)	Miki Enoki; Akihiro Nakao and Shu Yamamoto; Saneyasu Yamaguchi; Masato Oguchi
6.1	5G Transport and Broadband Access Networks: The Need for New Technologies and Standards	Tien Dat Pham (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology - NICT, Japan)	Atsushi Kanno, Naokatsu Yamamoto, Tetsuya Kawanishi
6.3	Why we still need standardized internet speed measurement mechanisms for end users	Eneko Atxutegi (University of the Basque Country, Spain)	Fidel Liberal, Eduardo Saiz and Eva Ibarrola
7.1	Connecting the World through Trustable Internet of Things	Ved P. Kafle (NICT, Japan)	Yusuke Fukushima, Hiroaki Harai
7.2	Is Regulation the Answer to the Rise of Over the Top (OTT) Services? An Exploratory Study of the Caribbean Market	Corlane Barclay (University of Technology Jamaica, Jamaica)	

And the winners are...

Third prize

Raising trust in security products and systems through standardisation and certification: the CRISP approach

Irene Kamara
(Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)

Thordis Sveinsdottir (Trilateral Research & Consulting, LLP, United Kingdom); Simone Wurster (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)

Second prize

Regulation and Standardization of Data Protection in Cloud Computing

Martin Löhe

(Technical University Berlin & Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany)

Knut Blind (Berlin University of Technology, Germany)

First prize

5G Transport and Broadband Access Networks: The Need for New Technologies and Standards

Tien Dat Pham

Atsushi Kanno and Naokatsu Yamamoto (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan); Tetsuya Kawanishi (Waseda University, Japan)

15 Young Author Recognition certificates

LECTURE SESSIONS

- □ Facundo Baigorria & Tomas Buchaillot (Instituto Universitario Aeronáutico, Argentina) S1.4
- ☐ Irene Kamara (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium) S2.1 & S2.2
- □ Jorge Viguri (Universitat Jaume I, Spain) S2.2
- ☐ Jairo López (Hitachi Ltd. Research & Development Group, Japan) S5.1
- □ Quang Nguyen (Waseda University, Japan) S5.2
- Eneko Atxutegi (University of the Basque Country, Spain) S6.2 & S6.3
- □ Lucas Alvarez Hamann, Mariano Rujana, María Báez Molinas, Luis Lezcano Airaldi, Juliana Torre (Tecnológica Nacional Facultad Regional Resistencia, Argentina) \$8.2

POSTER SESSION

- □ José Vinicius de Miranda Cardozo (Federal University of Campina Grande UFCG, Brazil) P.1
- ☐ Juan Vicente Pradilla (Universitat Politecnica Valencia, Spain) P.4
- Leckraj Bholah (University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom) P.6

The ITU together with the Kaleidoscope Steering Committee are honoured to give a

Special Mention to

Eduardo Casanovas, Tomas Exequiel Buchaillot and Facundo Baigorria (Instituto Universitario Aeronáutico, Argentina)

for their paper "Vulnerability of Radar Protocol and Proposed Mitigation", as their research work will immediately and significantly impact on the safety of millions of people daily.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!