





# **Telecoms for Disaster Relief: Tampere Convention**

Palais des Nations, Room XI 22 February 2005, 18.15 to 19.30 Hours

### **Panel**

#### Chairman

Mr. Houlin Zhao, Director Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB), ITU

#### Speakers

Dr. Marco **Ferrari**, Deputy Head Department for Humanitarian Aid + SHA, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation

Mr. Les Homan, Manager Numbering and Routeing, INMARSAT

Mr. Manabu Kanaya, Director of Telecommunication Systems Division, Telecommunications Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC) Japan

Mr. Colin Langtry, Counsellor, Study Group 8, Radiocommunication Bureau (BR), ITU

Dr. Cosmas **Zavazava**, Head, Special Unit for Least Developed Countries, Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT), ITU

## **Participants**

Arditto, Melissa, LDC & Emergency Telecoms Officer, ITU

Basch, Theo, President, Tsunami-Medical-Relief.com

**Billquist**, Scott, Journalist, Warren News

Bocsan, Adrian, Telecommunication Engineer Adviser, Tc Rumania

Campos, Simaõ, Counsellor, Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, ITU

**Charoenphol**, Direk, Advisor to Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Thailand

**Chinatiworn**, Kalaya, Foreign Relations Officer, Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Thailand

**Dunnette**, Roxana, GSEA, WorldSpace Corporation, France

**Dzenowagis**, Joan, Project Manager/Evidence and Information for Policy, WHO

**Ekebom**, Ralf, Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finland

**Fattal**, Khaled, Chairman and CEO, Multilingual Internet Names Consortium (MINC)

Fowlie, Gary, Chief Media Relations and Public Information, ITU

Fuseda, Hideo, Administrative Officer, SGO, ITU

Gasawa, Kenji, Researcher, National Rehabilitation Center for Persons with Disabilities, Japan

Geis, Stephen, Head, Management and Planning Unit, IS Department, ITU

**Gemillon**, Pierre, Satellite UPM Manager, WorldSpace Corporation, France

**Gross**, Philipp Oliver, EU - International Relations Officer, European Commission

Hughes, Kevin, Head, Study Group Department, Radiocommunication Bureau, ITU

**Ishida**, Naohiro, Director General, International Affairs Department, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan

Kato, Masayuki, Chef de Bureau, Jiji Press

**Kawamura**, Hiroshi, Director of Research Section on Social Rehabilitation, National Rehabilitation Center for Persons with Disabilities, Japan

Martin-Löf, Johan, Senior Adviser, Swedish National Post & Telecom Agency

**Mugabe**, Felix, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communications, Kenya

Mwesigwa, Patrick, Technical Manager, Uganda Communications Commission

Nabwowe, Angella, Journalist, Highway African News Agency (HANA)

Nalbandian, Albert, Adviser, Armenia

Nishihara, Akira, Director International Organizations Office, Ministry of Communications, Japan

**Obam**, Daniel, Communications Radio Technical Expert, National Communications Secretariat, Kenya

**Ondeng**, Abraham, Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communications, Kenya

Pluchon, Béatrice, SG/CECS, ITU

**Pornsutee**, Kraisorn, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Thailand

Timofeev, Valery, Director, Radiocommunication Bureau, ITU

**Torigoe**, Yushi, Deputy Director, International Organizations Office, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan

Tsugawa, Seiichi, Program Officer, WSIS

Vassiliev, Alexandre, Counsellor of ITU-R Study Group, ITU

Wanjan, Mercy, Principal Legal Officer, Communications Commission of Kenya

Yamada, Toshiyuki, Deputy Executive Director, Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT)

Yamaki, Chikako, Research Fellow, National Rehabilitation Center for Persons with Disabilities, Japan