WSIS Prizes Contest 2022 Nominee

Construction of the 2030 Digital Agenda


“A digital, inclusive, connected and participatory society in a institutionalized enabling environment "

Description

After two decades of executing short-term strategies that did not achieve the expected results and under the effects of a pandemic that posed new challenges, the Dominican Republic set about formulating a national digital transformation strategy that was long-term and built with the active participation of society, including community organizations from the different regions of the country, using a collaborative platform donated by the IDB. During the process of construction and consensus of the 2030 Digital Agenda, more than 200 public and private organizations participated, as well as 1,015 people in person and virtually from different parts of the country.

Project website

https://agendadigital.gob.do/


Action lines related to this project
  • AL C1. The role of governments and all stakeholders in the promotion of ICTs for development
  • AL C6. Enabling environment 2022
Sustainable development goals related to this project
  • Goal 1: No poverty
  • Goal 3: Good health and well-being
  • Goal 4: Quality education
  • Goal 5: Gender equality
  • Goal 8: Decent work and economic growth
  • Goal 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure
  • Goal 10: Reduced inequalities
  • Goal 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions
  • Goal 17: Partnerships for the goals

Coverage
  • Dominican Republic

Status

Completed

Start date

07 February 2021

End date

25 August 2021


Target beneficiary group(s)
  • Youth
  • Older persons
  • Women
  • People with disabilities
  • The unemployed
  • The poor
  • Migrants
  • Refugees and internally displaced people
  • Remote and rural communities
  • Visitors to DR, diaspora, investors

Replicability

This project is replicable in any developing nation that decides to build a national consensus strategy to close the digital divide and produce social inclusion through the use of technologies.


Sustainability

The fact that the private sector, civil society and academia have joined the public sector to formulate objectives, lines of action, indicators, initiatives and short, medium and long-term goals to elaborate the Digital Agenda 2030; they ensure its sustainability beyond a government period since it consists of a country-strategy.


WSIS values promotion

The collaborative way in which the 2030 Digital Agenda was elaborated, with the participation of the different actors that make up Dominican society, contributes to empowering them and sharing the responsibility of building an Information Society that provides equal opportunities to all, where it is respected the environment and the rights of every citizen.


Entity name

MINISTERIO DE LA PRESIDENCIA (MINPRE)

Entity country—type

Dominican Republic Government

Entity website

https://minpre.gob.do/

Partners

Name, Organization, Email, Phone: José David Montilla, Ministerio de la Presidencia, josemontilla@presidencia.gob.do, (809) 501-3733/ Noel Sued, Consultoría Jurídica Poder Ejecutivo, noelsued@consultoria.gov.do, (809)756-9938/ Amparo Arango, INDOTEL, aarango@indotel.gob.do, (829) 471-0908/ Yuberkis Chevalier, MINERD, yuberkis.chevalier@minerd.gob.do, (829) 766-4536/ Andrés Merejo, MESCYT, amerejo@mescyt.gob.do, (829) 277-5285/ Eliezer Nieves, MAP, eliezer.nieves@map.gob.do, (829) 704-2047/ Armando Manzueta, OGTIC, armando.manzueta@optic.gob.do, (849) 889-2773/ Carlos Guillermo Flaquer, MICM, carlos.flaquer@micm.gob.do, (849) 266-0271/ Fabiola Marina Herrera de Valdez, BANCO CENTRAL, f.herrera@bancentral.gov.do, (809) 390-3248/ Omar De Los Santos, CNCS, omar@cncs.gob.do, (829) 341-3069/ Bartolomé Pujals, Gabinete de Innovación, bartolomepujals@presidencia.gob.do, (829) 927-6682/ Maria Waleska Alvarez, AMCHAMDR, mwalvarez@napdelcaribe.com.do, (809) 258-7536/ Virginia Velasquez, ADOFINTECH, vvelazquez@adofintech.org, (809) 875-7744/ Samuel Conde, EDUCA, andran@educa.org.do, (809) 682-1616/ Antonio Caparros, INICIA, antonio@iniciaeducacion.org, (809) 542-8000/ Francisco J. Lora, CODOPYME, franciscolora@codopyme.do, (829) 222-7857/ Claudia Garcia, COMTEC, claudiagarcia@comtecrd.com, (829) 962-4440/ Moises Lora, CLUSTERSOFT, mlora@clustersoft.org.do, (829) 904-5159/ Jose Altagracia Hazim, ADRU, josealt@uce.edu.do, (809) 529-3562/ Syra Taveras, CIPAF, Staveras@cipaf.org.do, (809) 535-2696/ Michelle Aybar, GIRLS IN TECH, Michelle.aybar@girlsintech.org/ Yacine Khelladi, A4AI, yacine.khelladi@webfoudation.org, (809) 885-8443/ Osvaldo Larancuent, ISOC-RD, Osvaldo@isoc.do, (829) 341-9794/ Jose Alejandro Aybar, ADOU, j.aybar@unicaribe.edu.do, (809) 224-7222/ Victor Villanueva, AINEP, direccionejecutiva@ainep.edu.do, (809) 923-5797/ Sol Disla, ANJE, sdisla@anje.org, (829) 568-7559