African Declaration on Internet Rights and Freedoms Initiative

Details of the organization
Global Partners Digital
South Africa
Civil society entities

Information about the project
African Declaration on Internet Rights and Freedoms Initiative
African Declaration
The African Declaration on Internet Rights and Freedoms is a Pan-African initiative to promote human rights standards and principles of openness in Internet policy formulation and implementation on the continent. The Declaration is intended to elaborate on the principles which are necessary to uphold human and people’s rights on the Internet, and to cultivate an Internet environment that can best meet Africa’s social and economic development needs and goals. The Declaration builds on well-established international human rights instruments including the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and aims to shape approaches to Internet policy-making and governance across the continent.
Regional implementation
  • Africa
Algeria, Angola, Western Sahara, Burundi, Benin, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Central African Republic, Chad (Republic of), Cameroon, Comoros, Cape Verde (Republic of), Djibouti, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia (Republic of the), Guinea-Bissau, Ghana, Guinea, Côte d'Ivoire, Kenya, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mali, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Congo, Reunion, Rwanda, South Africa, Senegal, Seychelles, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, Somali (Democratic Republic), South Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Ongoing from 01/09/2014 to 28/02/2017
Article 19 Association for Progressive Communications, APC Civicus Kenya Human Rights Commission Media Foundation for West Africa Media Institute of Southern Africa Media Rights Agenda Paradigm Initiative, Nigeria PROTEGE QV Support for Information Technology Center Web We Want

WSIS information
* International and regional cooperation
  • Goal 4: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all
  • Goal 5: Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls
  • Goal 8: Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all
  • Goal 9: Build resilient infrastructure, promote sustainable industrialization and foster innovation
  • Goal 10: Reduce inequality within and among countries
  • Goal 11: Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  • Goal 16: Promote just, peaceful and inclusive societies
  • Goal 17: Revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development
  • Guidelines