Project Noah (Networked Organisms and Habitat): a free public mobile and web platform for documenting biodiversity

Details of the organization
Project Noah
United States of America
Business sector entities

Information about the project
Project Noah (Networked Organisms and Habitat): a free public mobile and web platform for documenting biodiversity
Project Noah
Project Noah ( is a free worldwide mobile and web platform designed for the documentation of biodiversity by the general public. In 7 years of existence and with over 785K observations (1.5 million geo-tagged images) from 196 countries, Project Noah has directly contributed to multiple SDGs by facilitating the involvement of schools and citizens in the scientific process, raising awareness about biodiversity, and disseminating free scientific digital content worldwide. Concrete outcomes include the discovery of new species and new locations for known species, fostering international collaborations across the economic divide, the provision of learning opportunities, and enabling local conservation projects.
International implementation
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Netherlands Caribbean, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Burundi, Belgium, Benin, Bangladesh, Bahamas, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Belarus, Belize, Central African Republic, Canada, Czech Republic, Chad (Republic of), Chile, Cook Islands, Cambodia, Cameroon, Comoros, Colombia, Costa Rica, China, Croatia, Cuba, Cape Verde (Republic of), Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), France, Gabon, Gambia (Republic of the), Guadeloupe, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guatemala, French Guiana, Guam, Guyana, Hong Kong, China, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Côte d'Ivoire, Jamaica, Jordan, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Malta, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Maldives, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mali, Malawi, Monaco, Montenegro (Republic of), Republic of Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Martinique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal (Republic of), Niger, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Easter Island, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Congo, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Korea (Rep. of), Romania, Rwanda, South Africa, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, South Sudan, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Slovenia, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uganda, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Russian Federation, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, United States of America, The United States Virgin Islands, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, British Virgin Islands, Taiwan, China, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Ongoing from 01/02/2010 to 01/02/2020
National Geographic

WSIS information
      * E-science
  • Goal 4: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all
  • Goal 14: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources
  • Goal 15: Sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation, halt biodiversity loss
  • Goal 16: Promote just, peaceful and inclusive societies
  • Goal 17: Revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development
  • Project
  • Website
  • Database
  • Mobile application