eTrade for All

Details of the organization
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
International organizations

Information about the project
eTrade for All
eTrade for All
The ''eTrade for All'' initiative was launched in Nairobi in July 2016 during the 14th quadrennial Conference of UNCTAD. This global partnership, which addresses the cross-cutting dimensions of e-commerce, seeks to assist developing countries in seizing opportunities offered by e-commerce – a market estimated by UNCTAD to be worth some $22.1 trillion in 2015. eTrade for All is an online knowledge sharing platform, currently being developed, that will make it easier for developing countries to navigate the supply of technical and financial assistance from partnering institutions. We will work together to raise awareness of opportunities, challenges and potential solutions in their respective activities to leverage e-commerce prospects. They will benefit from the exchange of knowledge and information, and share best practices in respect of e-commerce development. This dedicated platform will at the same time present donors with better information on projects and programmes to potentially fund according to their development priorities. The initiative is focusing on 7 key policy areas of particular relevance to e-commerce development: e-commerce readiness assessment and strategy formulation, ICT infrastructure and services, trade logistics, payment solutions, legal and regulatory frameworks, e-commerce skills development and access to financing. eTrade for All online platform will be officially launched on 25 April 2017, during UNCTAD e-Commerce Week
International implementation
Afghanistan, Anguilla, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Western Sahara, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Netherlands Caribbean, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Barbados, Burundi, Belgium, Benin, Bangladesh, Bahamas, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Belarus, Belize, Central African Republic, Canada, Czech Republic, Chad (Republic of), Chile, Cook Islands, Cambodia, Cameroon, Comoros, Colombia, Costa Rica, China, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Cape Verde (Republic of), Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), France, Faroe Islands, Gabon, Gambia (Republic of the), Guinea-Bissau, Guadeloupe, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guatemala, French Guiana, Guinea, Guam, Guyana, Haiti, Hong Kong, China, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Côte d'Ivoire, Jamaica, Jordan, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, China, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Marshall Islands, Malta, Mauritania, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Madeira, Maldives, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mali, Malawi, Monaco, Montenegro (Republic of), Republic of Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Northern Marianas, Martinique, Montserrat, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal (Republic of), Niger, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, New Zealand, French Polynesia, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Easter Island, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Congo, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Korea (Rep. of), Romania, Rwanda, South Africa, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Senegal, Seychelles, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, American Samoa, San Marino, Solomon Islands, Somali (Democratic Republic), Spain, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sri Lanka, South Sudan, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Slovenia, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Uganda, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Russian Federation, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, United States of America, The United States Virgin Islands, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, British Virgin Islands, Wallis and Futuna, Taiwan, China, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Ongoing from 17/07/2016 to 31/07/2030
The partners include the African Development Bank (AfDB), Consumers International (CI), the Enhanced Integrated Framework (EIF), E-residency (Estonia), the International Association of Prosecutors (IAP)/Global Prosecutors Network (GPen), the International Civil Society Aviation Organization (ICAO), the Internet Society (ISOC), the International Islamic Trade Finance Corporation (ITFC), the International Trade Center (ITC), the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE), the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC), the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP), the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for West Africa (UNESWA), the United Nations Social Impact Fund, the Universal Postal Union (UPU), the World Bank Group, the World Customs Organization (WCO), and the World Trade Organization (WTO).

WSIS information
      * E-business
  • Goal 8: Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all
  • Goal 17: Revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development
  • Programme
  • Tool-kit
  • Website