ICASA awards provisional radio frequency spectrum assignment to qualifying licensee under the new ICT COVID019 National State of Disaster Regulations - 29/11/2021
TELECOM/ICT Policy Makers and Regulators | Africa | South Africa
The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA/the Authority) has concluded its analysis of applications for provisional assignment of radio frequency spectrum under the new ICT COVID-19 National State of Disaster Regulations, 2021, and resolved to grant licences to six (6) electronic communications network operators. The licences are valid for a period of seven (7) months, commencing from 1 December 2021, and ending on 30 June 2022 - or three months after the termination of the National State of Disaster - whichever comes first. By the closing date on 17 November 2021, the Authority had received 6 applications, from: Rain Networks, Vodacom, Cell C, Telkom, Liquid Intelligence Technologies, and MTN. All the applications for provisional spectrum assignments were considered in accordance with the criteria and conditions stipulated in the ICT COVID-19 National State of Disaster Regulations. The licences are issued in respect of radio frequency spectrum for the 700 MHz, 800 MHz, 2300 MHz, 2600 MHz and 3500 MHz bands.