

world summit on the information society Geneva 2003 - Tunis 2005



Document WSIS-II/PC-3/CONTR/63-E 1 September 2005 Original: English

IT for Change

Joint submission to the 7th meeting of the WSIS GFC by civil society organisations and individuals on the proposed draft text for paragraphs 10, <u>11 and 29 of the operational part of the Tunis document</u>

The undersigned organisations and individuals from the civil society strongly oppose the move to make the proposed changes in paragraphs 10, 11 and 29 of the operational part of the Tunis document, as per the new input document circulated by the President of the PrepCom. These changes do not represent the contributions of the various stakeholders to the existing text, and their acceptance will defeat the stated purpose of the Tunis summit, described as the 'summit of solutions', to make some real headway in implementing the promises of the Geneva summit.

We suggest that implementation and follow-up mechanisms for WSIS are based on multi-stakeholder teams around action lines with a well-defined overall co-ordination body, as contained in the existing paragraphs 10, 11 and 29. The text of these paragraphs should be further improved and elaborated through a multi-stakeholder consultative process in order to ensure that an adequate post-WSIS structure is in place. The purpose of such a structure will not only be to implement the outcomes of WSIS but also to take up information society issues as they emerge.

- 1. William Drake for Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
- 2. Wolfgang Kleinwächter, University of Aarhus.
- 3. Adam Peake for Center for Global Communications (GLOCOM)
- 4. Richard Jordan
- 5. Karen Banks for Association for Progressive Communications (APC)
- 6. Chantal Peyer for Bread For All
- 7. Jean-Louis Fullsack for CSDPTT
- 8. Divina Meigs for Education, Academia and Research Taskforce

- 9. Guillaume Chenevière for World Radio and Television Council
- 10. Tracey Naughton, Information Society Institute, Cape Peninsula University of Technology
- 11. Marianne Seger for EURAG
- 12. Ralf Bendrath for **Netzwerk Neue Medien**
- 13. Pablo Accuosto for Instituto del Tercer Mundo (ITeM)
- 14. Parminder Jeet Singh for IT for Change