

Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT)



Ref.: Circular BDT/DDR/DER/059

Geneva, 2 April 2025

To: -Administrations of ITU Member States -ITU-D Sector Members -Chair and Vice-Chair of TDAG -Chairs and Vice-Chairs of ITU-D Study Groups 1 and 2

Subject:Candidates for chairs and vice-chairs of the Telecommunication Development Advisory
Group (TDAG) and ITU-D study groups for 2026-2029

Dear Sir/Madam,

In accordance with Resolution 208 (Rev. Bucharest, 2022) of the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference (PP), in order to help the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC) appoint chairs/vice-chairs of the study groups and the Telecommunication Development Advisory Group (TDAG), Member States and ITU-D Sector Members are encouraged to indicate proposed candidates to the Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT).

Should your administration/organization wish to propose a candidate for a post of chair or vice-chair of an ITU-D study group or TDAG, or support a currently serving chair or vice-chair (see **Annexes 1 and 2**), kindly send the name and biographical profile highlighting the qualifications of the individual concerned, preferably by **30 June 2025.**

The names and CVs of candidates nominated will be posted on the <u>WTDC-25 website</u> in the original language.

Your attention is drawn to the following:

- *Resolves 4* of PP Resolution 208, where it reads "that the term of office for both chairmen and vicechairmen shall not exceed two terms of office between consecutive assemblies or conferences";
- *Resolves further 2* of PP Resolution 208, where it states "that the appointment of vice-chairmen of Sector advisory groups should be limited to two candidates and of vice-chairmen of study groups to two or three candidates from each regional organization...";
- Procedure for the appointment of chairs and vice-chairs of the Sector advisory groups, study groups and other groups, in Annex 1 of PP Resolution 208;
- Qualifications of chairs and vice-chairs, in Annex 2 of PP Resolution 208;
- Guidelines for appointment of the optimum numbers of vice-chairs for Sector advisory groups, study groups and other groups, in Annex 3 of Resolution 208, where there is mention of "...no single individual may hold more than one vice-chairmanship position in these groups in any one Sector, and only in exceptional cases hold such a position in more than one Sector".
- Section 3.2 of <u>WTDC Resolution 1</u> (Rev. Kigali, 2022) states that "It is expected that the chairmen and the vice-chairmen, having assumed their duties, will receive from their Member State or Sector Member the support necessary for the performance of those duties throughout the period until the next WTDC."

I look forward to receiving your proposed candidatures. I would also encourage you to already start thinking about possible nominations for Rapporteurs and Vice-Rapporteurs for future Study Questions.

Yours faithfully,

Delon B

Cosmas Luckyson Zavazava Director

Annexes:

Annex 1: List of chairs and vice-chairs of TDAG

Annex 2: List of chairs and vice-chairs of ITU-D study groups

ANNEX 1

List of chairs and vice-chairs of TDAG Study Period 2022-2025

Also see: https:/	/www.itu.int/en/ITU-D	/Conferences/TDAG/	Pages/TDAG23/Bureau.aspx

Position	Name	Country	Region	Eligibility for re- appointment*
Chair	Ms Roxanne McElvane WEBBER	United States	AMS	NOT Eligible
Vice-Chair Study Group 1	Ms Regina Fleur ASSOUMOU- BESSOU	Côte d'Ivoire		Please refer to Annex 2
Vice-Chair Study Group 2	Mr Fadel DIGHAM	Egypt		Please refer to Annex 2
Vice-Chair	Mr Christopher Kipkoech KEMEI	Kenya	AFR	(retired)
Vice-Chair	Mr Abdulkarim Ayopo OLOYEDE	Nigeria	AFR	NOT Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Agustina BRIZIO	Argentina	AMS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Andrea Mamprim GRIPPA	Brazil	AMS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Ahmed Abd El-Aziz GAD	Egypt	ARB	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Shahad ALBALAWI	Saudi Arabia	ARB	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Ke WANG	China	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Ahmad Reza SHARAFAT	Islamic Rep. of Iran	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Orozobek ZHAZYBAEVICH KAIYKOV	Kyrgyz Republic	CIS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	(vacant)		CIS	
Vice-Chair	Ms Blanca GONZÁLEZ	Spain	EUR	NOT Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Inga Rimkevičienė	Lithuania	EUR	Eligible

ANNEX 2

List of chairs and vice-chairs of ITU-D study groups Study Period 2022-2025

Study Group 1: also see <u>https://www.itu.int/net4/ITU-D/CDS/sg/chairmen.asp?lg=1&sp=2022</u>

Position	Name	Country	Region	Eligibility for re- appointment*
Chair	Ms Regina Fleur ASSOUMOU-BESSOU	Côte d'Ivoire	AFR	Not eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Caecilia NYAMUTSWA	Zimbabwe	AFR	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Amah Vinyo CAPO	Тодо	AFR	Not eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Roberto Mitsuake HIRAYAMA	Brazil	AMS	Not eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Ali Rasheed Hamad AL-HAMAD	Kuwait	ARB	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Sameera Belal MOMEN MOHAMMAD	Kuwait	ARB	(resigned)
Vice-Chair	Mr Sangwon KO	Korea (Rep. of)	ASP	Not eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Memiko OTSUKI	Japan	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Sunil SINGHAL	India	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Khayala PASHAZADE	Azerbaijan	CIS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Umida MUSAEVA	Uzbekistan	CIS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr George Anthony GIANNOUMIS	Norway	EUR	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Mehmet Alper TEKIN	Türkiye	EUR	Eligible

Study Group 2: also see <u>https://www.itu.int/net4/ITU-D/CDS/sg/chairmen.asp?lg=1&sp=2022</u>

Position	Name	Country	Region	Eligibility for re- appointment*
Chair	Mr Fadel DIGHAM	Egypt	ARB	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Zainab ARDO	Nigeria	AFR	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Mohamed LAMINE MINTHE	Guinea	AFR	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Víctor Antonio MARTÍNEZ SÁNCHEZ	Paraguay	AMS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Abdelaziz ALZAROONI	United Arab	ARB	Eligible
		Emirates		
Vice-Chair	Mr Hideo IMANAKA	Japan	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Mina Seonmin JUN	Korea (Rep. of)	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Tongning WU	China	ASP	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Mushfig GULUYEV	Azerbaijan	CIS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Javokhir ARIPOV	Uzbekistan	CIS	Eligible
Vice-Chair	Mr Diyor RAJABOV	Uzbekistan	CIS	(resigned)
Vice-Chair	Mr Dominique WÜRGES	France	EUR	Not eligible
Vice-Chair	Ms Alina MODAN	Romania	EUR	(resigned)
Vice-Chair	Ms Carmen-Madalina CLAPON	Romania	EUR	Eligible

* Not eligible: Reached maximum terms of office for this post according to Resolution 208 of the Plenipotentiary Conference (Rev. Bucharest, 2022).

Eligible: Can be re-appointed for the second and last term of office for this post.