Cancellation of entry visa, here is the list of African countries concerned:

Wednesday 15 February 2017, As promised, President Benin Patrice Talon has just cancelled the visas of short-stay entries for some thirty African countries.

30 countries from all regions of the African continent are now exempted from visas to tread the Beninese territory. These include:

- 1- Afrique du Sud
- 2- Angola
- 3- Botswana
- 4- Comores
- 5- Cameroun
- 6 République centrafricaine
- 7- République du Congo
- 8- République démocratique du Congo
- 9- Djibouti
- 10- Érythrée
- 11- Éthiopie
- 12- Gabon
- 13- Guinée équatoriale
- 14- Kenya
- 15-Lesotho
- 16- Madagascar
- 17- Malawi
- 18- Maurice
- 19- Mozambique
- 20- Namibie
- 21- Ouganda
- 22- Rwanda
- 23- Sao-Tomé-Et-Principe
- 24- Seychelles
- 25- Somalie
- 26- Swaziland
- 27- Tchad
- 28- Tanzanie
- 29- Zambie
- 30- Zimbabwe

Please note that this measure concerns stays of less than 90 days.

To these countries are added the fourteen (14) countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Burkina, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, and Cape Verde.

Inspired by the Rwandan example, Beninese head of state Patrice Talon decided during a visit to Kigali in August 2016 to cancel short-stay visas for African travelers. A decision that comes into force after its adoption by the Council of Ministers last October.