

ITU Regional Forum for Europe 5G Strategies, policies and implementation

This regional forum is held within the framework of the ITU Regional Initiatives for Europe as well as related to the work of ITU-D, ITU-T and ITU-R Study Groups. It is organized by the International Telecommunication Union and supported by Chancellery of the Prime Minister (KPRM), Republic of Poland

22-23 October 2020 | Virtual



Draft AGENDA

Thursday | 22 October 2020

Thursday 22 October 2020	
[9:45 – 10:00]	Virtual Networking
[10:00-10:15]	Opening Ceremony
	High-level Opening Addresses
	Ms. Doreen Bogdan, Director, Telecommunication Development Bureau, ITU
	 H.E. Mr. Marek Zagórski, Secretary of State Government Plenipotentiary for Cybersecurity, Chancellery of the Prime Minister (KPRM), Republic of Poland
[10:15 - 10:45]	Setting the context
	 Dr. Bilel Jamoussi, Chief of Study Groups Department, Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, ITU
	Mr. Uwe Lowenstein, Counsellor, Study Group 5, Radiocommunication Bureau, ITU
	Mr. Jaroslaw Ponder, Head of ITU Regional Office for Europe, ITU
[10:45 – 12:15]	Session 1 - Regional 5G Strategies and policies
	Moderator
	Mr. Jaroslaw Ponder, Head of ITU Regional Office for Europe, ITU
	Setting the Context
	 Mr. Wolfgang Crasemann, Head of Division, International Digital and Postal Policy, G7 and G20, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Germany (on behalf of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union)





Panellists

- TBC, European Commission
- Mr. Antonio Arcidiacono, Director of Technology and Innovation, European Broadcasting Union (EBU)
- Mr. Karol Krzywicki, EaPeReg Chair 2020, Eastern Partnership & Deputy President,
 Office of Electronic Communications (UKE), Poland
- Mr. Morten Friis Møller, Senior Advisor and team leader on Digital Governance, Nordic Council of Ministers
- Mr. Neils Kalnins, Director of Business Development, 5G Technitory & Office of Electronic Communications
- Ms. Lise Fuhr, Director General, European Telecommunications Network Operators' Association (ETNO)
- Mr. Daniel Pataki, Vice President, Policy and Regulation & Head of Europe, Russia and CIS, GSMA
- Mr. Luc Hindryckx, Director General, European Competitive Telecommunications Association (ECTA)
- Mr. Alberto Di Felice, Director for Infrastructure, Privacy and Security, DIGITALEUROPE
- Ms. Aarti Holla-Maini, Secretary General, EMEA Satellite Operators Association (ESOA)

[12:15 – 13:00] Lunch break

[13:00 – 14:30] Session 2 - National 5G Strategies and policies in EU countries

Moderator

 Dr. Vadym Kaptur, Vice-Chairman of ITU-D Study Group 1, and co-Rapporteur on ITU-D Question 1/1

Setting the context

 Mr. Frédéric Pujol, Head of Wireless technologies and spectrum, IDATE & focal point for the 5G Observatory

Panellists

- **Dr. Stelios Himonas,** Permanent Secretary, Deputy Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy, Cyprus
- Mr. Jeremy Godfrey, Commissioner, Commission for Communications Regulation, Ireland
- Mr. Antonio Fernández-Paniagua Díaz-Flores, Deputy Director, Radio Spectrum Planning and Management, State Secretary of Telecommunications and Digital Infrastructure, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Digital Transformation, Spain
- Mr. Domink Kopera, Acting Deputy Director in Telecommunications Department, Chancellery of the Prime Minister, Republic of Poland
- Mr. Darius Stravinskas, Adviser to the Minister, Ministry of Transport and Communications of the Republic of Lithuania
- Mr. Vilem Vesely, Deputy Director, Electronic Communications Department, Ministry of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic
- Mr. Wolfgang Crasemann, Head of Division, International Digital and Postal Policy, G7 and G20, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Germany
- Mr. Ioannis Neokosmidis, CEO, INCITES consulting





[14:30 - 16:00]

Session 3 - National 5G Strategies and policies in non-EU countries

Moderator and Setting the context

• Mr. Jaroslaw Ponder, Head of ITU Regional Office for Europe, ITU

Introductory remarks

Ms. Inga Popovici, Chair, IRB EWG, EaPeReg, Eastern Parnership

Panellists

- Dr. Irini Reljin, Assistant Minister for Electronic Communications and Postal Traffic,
 Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications, Serbia
- Mr. Andrei Gavrisi, Director of the National Service for the Radiofrequencies
 Management, Ministry of Economy and Infrastructure, Moldova
- Mr. Boris Jevric, Deputy Executive Director, Head of Radiocommunication Department, Agency for Electronic Communications and Postal Services (EKIP), Montenegro
- Mrs. Ketevan Rekhviashvili, Strategic Development Dept. Chief Specialist, Georgian National Communications Commission (GNCC), Georgia
- Mr. Mohammad Lari, Head of Cross-Government and International Coordination, 5G
 Testbeds and Trials Programme, Department for Digital, Culture Media and Sport
 (DCMS), United Kingdom
- Mr. Ramazan Yılmaz, Head of Technical Regulations Department, Information and Communication Technologies Authority (ICTA), Turkey

[16:00 - 16:15]

Conclusions of the Day One

Friday | 23 October 2020

[9:45 – 10:00]	Virtual Networking
[10:00 - 10:15]	Keynote Speech
	 Mr. Jeremy Godfrey, Vice-Chair 2020, Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)
[10:15 – 12:15]	Session 4 - 5G implementation: Private sector developments and commercialization

Moderator

 Mr. Istvan Bozsoki, Head of Telecommunication Networks and Spectrum Division, Telecommunication Development Bureau, ITU

Panellists

- Mr. Reinhard Scholl, Deputy Director, Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, ITU
- Ms. Donna Bethea-Murphy, Senior Vice President, Global Regulatory, Inmarsat
- Mr. Alexander Geurtz, Vice President, 5G solutions, SES
- Ms. Silvana Apicella, Head of Strategic Network Evolution Southern Europe, Ericsson
- Mr. Zaheen Khan, Head of Wireless Marketing & Strategy, West Europe, Huawei
- Ms. Francesca Sartori, Principal Solution Architect, Nokia Bell Labs
- Mr. Juan Manuel Cambeiro, Head of the Telefónica Spain Innovation Project, Telefonica Spain
- Mrs. Elif Yenihan Kaya, Director, Turkcell Access Network Capabilities





[12:15 – 13:00] Lunch break

[13:00 – 15:00] Session 5 - 5G implementation: EMF and other challenges

Moderator

• Mr. Witold Tomaszewski, National Institute of Telecommunications, Republic of Poland

Setting the context

• **Dr. Haim Mazar (Madjar),** ITU Consultant and ITU inter-sector coordinator on RF-EMF and co-rapporteur ITU-D Question 7/2, vice-chair ITU-R Study Group 5 (terrestrial services)

Panellists

- Dr. Emilie Van Deventer, Head of EMF Project, WHO
- Dr. Rodney Croft, Chair, International Committee on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP)
- Mr. Konstantinos Masselos, President, Hellenic Telecommunications & Post Commission (EETT), Greece
- Mr. Martin Fenton, Director of Spectrum Analysis, Office of Communications (Ofcom), United Kingdom
- Mr. Rafał Pawlak, National Institute of Telecommunications, Republic of Poland &
 Mr. Jakub Kwiecień, National Institute of Telecommunications, Republic of Poland
- Mr. Goran Laovski, Chief Advisor for Fixed and Mobile Radio Communications & Mr. Nenad Radosavljević, Team lead for the Quality of Service group, Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications and Postal Services, Republic of Serbia
- Dr. Antonio Capone, Full-Professor, Politecnico di Milano (Technical University of Milan), Italy
- Mr. Henri Haxhiraj, Senior Manager Business Development and Government Relations, atene KOM
- Mr. Uwe Baeder, Director of International Relations ITU/UN, Rohde Schwarz

[15:00 – 15:15] Conclusions of Day Two and Way Forward

- H.E. Mr. Marek Zagórski, Secretary of State Government Plenipotentiary for Cybersecurity, Chancellery of the Prime Minister (KPRM), Republic of Poland
- Mr. Jaroslaw Ponder, Head of ITU Regional Office for Europe, ITU



