ITU-T Kaleidoscope Conference Innovations in NGN

Best paper awards

Dr. Ing. Caridad Anías Calderón Vice-Rector, José A. Echeverría Superior Polytechnic Institute, Cuba



Conference Objectives

- Identify visionary ideas on future Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) through a kaleidoscopic view of communication habits for the future, which can eventually lead to new topics for standardization.
- Highlight how Innovative technologies (five years and beyond) will promote Digital Inclusion and help bring the benefits of ICTs to all segments of the population, in particular those in underserved communities and developing countries.
- Address multidisciplinary aspects including regulatory and societal challenges as well as analysis of standardization needed.
- Increase the dialogue between academia and experts working on the standardization of information and communications technologies (ICT).

Award committee:

five distinguished conference attendees

AC - Chair:

Mostafa Hashem Sherif (AT&T, USA) <u>mhsherif@att.com</u>

AC - Members:

- Erkki Allan Sutinen (University of Joensuu, Finland) <u>sutinen@cs.joensuu.fi</u>
- Helmut Schink (NSN, Germany) <u>helmut.schink@nsn.com</u>
- Kai Jakobs (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) kai.jakobs@nets.rwth-aachen.de
- Louis Masi (IBM, USA) <u>Imasi@us.ibm.com</u>
- Thoru Asami (University of Tokyo, Japan) <u>asami@akg.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp</u>

Criteria

1 - Clarity
2 - Relevance
3 - Standards
4 - Presentation

Awards

Original Awards:
First paper: 5000 USD
Second paper: 3000 USD
Third Paper: 2000 USD

Award Committee Decided to combine the second and third award having three papers awarded equally as second award:

3000 + 2000 / 3 = 1666 USD

Awards

Paper awards for Kaleidoscope 2009:

First paper: 5000 USD

Second paper: 1666 USD
Second paper: 1666 USD
Second paper: 1666 USD

Ten nominees

Best ranking papers that were recommended for best paper award (double-blind review) and received no rejection recommendations

Ten candidates

- three in Track 1 (Architecture)
- three in Track 2 (Services and Applications)
- four in Track 3 (Social economic and policy issues)

Nominees (1/2)

- Enhanced Advertising for Next Generation Networks Jose Simões, Thomas Magedanz, Luca Lamorte, Moltchanov Boris, Carmen Criminisi
- Universal Digital Inclusion: Beyond Connectivity, Affordability and Capability <u>Mamello Thinyane</u>, <u>Alfredo Terzoli</u>
- Global effort on Bridging the Digital Divide and the role of ICT standardization <u>Mario Canazza</u>
- Mobile-NGN Architecture based on REST concept <u>Yoshitoshi Murata</u>
- Discrimination in NGN service markets: Opportunity or barrier to digital inclusion? Fernando Beltran, <u>Lina Gomez</u>

Nominees (2/2)

An ID/Locator Split Architecture of Future Networks <u>Ved Kafle</u>, Hideki Otsuki, <u>Masugi Inoue</u> A model and system architecture for ubiquitous sensor network businesses Masugi Inoue Quality of Service management for ISP: A model and implementation methodology based on ITU-T Rec.802 framework Eva Ibarrola, Jin Xiao, Fidel Liberal, Armando Ferro ROFSO: A universal platform for convergence of fiber and free-space optical communication networks <u>Kamugisha Kazaura</u>, Kazuhiko Wakamori, <u>Mitsuji Matsumoto</u> Takeshi Higashino, Katsutoshi Tsukamoto, Shozo Komaki Towards Digital Blood-Banking Vasileios Spyropoulos, Maria Botsivaly, Aris Tzavaras, Panagiotoula Spyropoulou

And the winners are...

Second prize

An ID/Locator Split Architecture of Future Networks

Ved Kafle, Hideki Otsuki, Masugi Inoue

Second prize

Quality of Service management for ISP: A model and implementation methodology based on ITU-T Rec.802 framework

 Eva Ibarrola, Jin Xiao, Fidel Liberal, Armando Ferro

Second prize

Discrimination in NGN service markets: Opportunity or barrier to digital inclusion?

Fernando Beltran, Lina Gomez

First prize

- ROFSO: A universal platform for convergence of fiber and free-space optical communication networks
 - Kamugisha Kazaura, Kazuhiko Wakamori, Mitsuji Matsumoto, Takeshi Higashino, Katsutoshi Tsukamoto, Shozo Komaki

Young Author Recognition certificates

- Jose Simões (S2.3)
- Lina Gomez (S3.2)
- Tullio Bertini (S7.2)
- Aline Zim (Poster P7)
- Kei Wada (Poster P8)
- Juan Pablo Bernal (Poster P9)
- Paul Plantinga (Poster P11)
- Alberto Diez Albaladejo (Poster P12)

Congratulations!!!