## International Telecommunication Union



Radiocommunication Bureau (Direct Fax N°. +41 22 730 57 85)

Administrative Circular CA/161 17 July 2006

## To Administrations of Members of the ITU and Radiocommunication Sector Members

Subject: Review of the structure of ITU-R Study Groups

In accordance with Article 8 of the Convention, Radiocommunication Assemblies shall decide on the need to maintain, terminate or establish Study Groups in the light of the approved programme of work. In this respect, the current Study Group structure was adopted at the last Assembly in 2003 (RA-03) and is contained in Resolution ITU-R 4-4. The forthcoming Radiocommunication Assembly in 2007 (RA-07) will provide the next opportunity to review the structure in accordance with the established work programme and to make decisions on any changes considered necessary.

When considering the Study Group structure for the next study period, it will be particularly important for RA-07 to have in mind the following two objectives:

- i) to optimise the efficiency of the Radiocommunication Sector in the light of the continuing financial limitations, recognising the possibility of further budgetary reductions resulting from decisions of the Plenipotentiary Conference (PP-06);
- ii) to ensure that the structure and terms of reference of the Study Groups are commensurate with current radiocommunication technologies and associated spectrum issues.

It is well understood that Study Group activities need to be contained within available financial resources and the associated work programmes aligned accordingly. Paramount to achieving this aim is the appropriate designation of Study Groups and in turn, their subordinate groups, with terms of reference that precisely reflect the needs of the Sector in relation to current radiocommunication technologies. Moreover, the optimal choice of Study Groups, together with their subordinate groups, influences the number of meetings held and their duration – further factors that play a major role in determining the efficiency of the Sector and in turn the costs incurred, not only for the Bureau, but also for the membership.

The past few years have witnessed significant changes in radiocommunication technology, largely stemming from the convergence of previously well-defined services and systems. Such evolution must inevitably call into question the current Study Group structure which has remained essentially unchanged for over a decade. Organisational difficulties are becoming increasingly apparent due to the overlap of topics across more than one Study Group (or subordinate group), resulting in growing frustration and dissatisfaction amongst the membership. The "home" for studies on wireless access systems is ill-defined and ambiguous; similarly, satellite systems are currently treated across more than three Study Groups, despite the almost identical technology irrespective of whether the service is broadcasting, fixed or mobile.

The purpose of this letter is not only to serve as a reminder of the commitment of RA-07 to address the issue of Study Group structure, but also to encourage early consideration of the matter amongst the membership in the light of the factors outlined above. The Bureau would welcome any preliminary feed-back on the views of members and stands ready to provide any information or assistance on the matter.

In summary, it is essential for the future of Study Group activities that an effective structure be put into place which accurately reflects today's radiocommunication environment, at the same time providing maximum opportunity for the experts within the membership to participate in their fields of expertise.

Valery Timofeev Director, Radiocommunication Bureau

Distribution:

- Administrations of Members of the ITU
- Radiocommunication Sector Members
- Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Radiocommunication Study Groups and Special Committee on Regulatory/Procedural Matters
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Radiocommunication Advisory Group
- Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Conference Preparatory Meeting
- Members of the Radio Regulations Board
- Secretary-General of the ITU, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau