Seminar on Economic aspects of national radio frequency spectrum management

Kyiv (Ukraine), 3 - 5 July 2007

FINAL REPORT

Andrei Untila, ITU Europe Area Office

A seminar on **Economic aspects of national radio frequency spectrum management** for European and CIS countries was organized by ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT) in cooperation with the Radiocommunication Bureau (BR,) at the kind invitation of the Communications Administration of Ukraine, in Kiev from 3 to 5 July 2007, at the premises of Ukrainian Centre of Radio Frequencies.

This ITU seminar was addressed to European and CIS national telecommunication administrations, regulatory authorities and spectrum management bodies, scientific and research institutions, telecommunication operators and other interested organizations.

Experts from international organizations such as European Radiocommunication Office (ERO), European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI), ITU Radiocommunication Bureau (BR), national European and CIS research and development organizations, academic institutes, and frequency management bodies, provided the latest information and exchanged their experiences concerning the role, place and use of economical methods in radio frequency spectrum management at the national level, covering the following main issues:

- Basic aspects of radio frequency management on the international and national level, and spectrum economics:
 - ITU activities in the field of spectrum management;
 - approaches by different Administrations;
- Main tendencies in radio frequency management:
 - new technologies and changing spectrum requirements;
 - spectrum redeployment;
- Economic aspects of spectrum management;
 - o approaches and principles related to the calculation of frequency charges;
 - spectrum licence and usage fees;
 - o measure of spectrum utilization efficiency and increase of efficiency;
- Practical experience of application of economical methods for spectrum management.

The seminar was attended by 114 participants representing Armenia, Azerbaijan, Albania, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Russia, Romania, Switzerland, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.