中文  |  English  |  Español  |  Français  |  Русский
 
خريطة الموقع اتصل بنا صيغة للطباعة
ITU الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

صفحة الاستقبال : WTISD

 
       
اليوم العالمي للاتصالات ومجتمع المعلومات، 17 مايو 2011

رسالة من الدكتور حمدون توريه,  الأمين العام للاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

حياة أفضل في المجتمعات الريفية بفضل تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات

 



إن تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات تعيد باستمرار تشكيل الطريقة التي يتواصل بها العالم وتستحدث في الوقت ذاته فرص حياة أفضل من خلال التنمية المستدامة وطويلة الأجل، لا سيما بين الفئات الأكثر حرماناً في مجتمعنا.

وهذا العام، ونحن نحتفل بالعيد السنوي السادس والأربعين بعد المائة للاتحاد، نركز اهتمامنا على المجتمعات الريفية في العالم في سعينا إلى توصيل أقاصي أصقاع العالم بفوائد تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.

واليوم، تمثل تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات قوة الدفع للاقتصاد العالمي وتوفر حلولاً حقيقية نحو تحقيق النمو والازدهار الاقتصادي المستدام. وتعمل تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات أيضاً كعوامل حفازة في الإسراع بالتقدم صوب تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية.

وفي سياق المناطق الريفية، توفر تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات فرصاً معززة لتوليد الدخل ومكافحة الفقر والجوع والمرض والأمية. وإن تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وما يتصل بها من تطبيقات إلكترونية تعتبر أدوات أساسية لتحسين الإدارة والخدمات الريفية مثل توفير خدمات الرعاية الصحية في المجتمعات ومياه الشرب المأمونة والمرافق الصحية والتعليم والغذاء والمأوى؛ وتحسين صحة الأم وخفض وفيات الأطفال؛ وتمكين المرأة وأفراد المجتمع الأكثر ضعفاً؛ وضمان الاستدامة البيئية.

ويقطن نصف سكان العالم أي حوالي 3,5 مليارات نسمة في المناطق الريفية والمجتمعات النائية، التي تمثل أكثر الفئات فقراً وحرماناً وأقلها تعلماً بالمقارنة مع سكان المدن الحضرية في العالم. ومن بينهم هناك 1,4 مليار من الناس في العالم يعيشون في فقر مدقع ويعتبرون أيضاً من بين أقل المستفيدين من تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وفوائدها. ولا يمكن أن نسمح باستمرار هذه الحالة. لقد حان وقت العمل على الصعيد العالمي لتوصيل المجتمعات الريفية بالفرص التي تقدمها تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.

إن الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات ملتزم بتوصيل العالم وضمان وصول فوائد تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات إلى أقصى المناطق النائية فضلاً عن المجتمعات المحلية الأكثر ضعفاً. وإنه لمن دواعي الفخر أن أقول إن أعمالنا في الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات بشأن وضع معايير تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات وإدارة الموارد الطيفية والمدارية الحيوية، وتعبئة الموارد التقنية والبشرية والمالية اللازمة وتعزيز الاستجابة في حالات الطوارئ في أعقاب الكوارث الطبيعية المدمرة، لقيت نجاحاً غير مسبوق ونحن ندخل في العقد الثاني من هذه الألفية.

وعلى الرغم من الانتشار السريع للهاتف المحمول، إذ بلغ عدد المشتركين أكثر من 5,3 مليارات مشترك في العالم، فإن الهدف الرئيسي الآن هو النهوض بالمحتوى من خلال تعزيز النفاذ عريض النطاق من أجل إنشاء الطرق السريعة للمعلومات والاتصالات  الشبكات التي ستغذي مراكز المجتمعات الريفية والحضرية بالوسائل اللازمة للوفاء بأهدافها وتطلعاتها الإنمائية. ويرمي الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات من خلال الدور القيادي الذي يضطلع به في إطار اللجنة المعنية بالنطاق العريض لأغراض التنمية الرقمية إلى زيادة تنفيذ هذه التكنولوجيا الحديثة لترسيخ مجتمع معلومات قائم على المعرفة ومتاح للجميع.

وإنني أحثكم على الاحتفال باليوم العالمي للاتصالات ومجتمع المعلومات هذا العام من خلال التركيز على توصيل الناس في أنحاء العالم وتسخير الإمكانات الكاملة لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات حتى يتسنى لنا جميعاً أن ننعم بحياة أكثر ازدهاراً وسلاماً، حياة أفضل بكل معنى الكلمة، لا سيما في المناطق الريفية.

الدكتور حمدون إ. توريه
الأمين العام


 

 

 

  للرجوع إلى أعلى الصفحة -  تعليقات - اتصل بنا -  © ITU 2011 حقوق الطبع جميع الحقوق محفوظة
للاتصال بالمسؤول عن هذه الصفحةاليوم العالمي للاتصالات ومجتمع المعلومات، 17 مايو
آخر تجديد: 2011-04-15

International Telecommunication Union   ITU
عربي  |  中文  |  Español  |  Français  |  Русский
 
 Advanced Search Advanced Search Site Map Contact us Print Version
 
Home : WTISD
   
World Telecommunication and Information Society Day, 17 May 2011
Message from Dr Hamadoun I. Touré,  ITU Secretary-General

Better Life in Rural Communities with ICTs

 


 

ICTs are constantly reshaping the way the world communicates while creating opportunities for a better life through long-term, sustainable development, not least among the most disadvantaged sections of our society.

This year, as we celebrate ITU’s 146th anniversary, we focus our attention on the world’s rural communities in our quest to connect the remotest corners to the benefits of ICTs.

Today, ICTs are the powerhouses of the global economy and offer real solutions towards generating sustainable economic growth and prosperity. ICTs also act as catalysts in accelerating progress towards meeting the Millennium Development Goals.

In the rural context, ICTs provide enhanced opportunities to generate income and combat poverty, hunger, ill health and illiteracy. ICTs and related e-applications are key instruments in improving governance and rural services, such as providing community health care, safe drinking water and sanitation, education, food and shelter; improving maternal health and reducing child mortality; empowering women and the more vulnerable members of society; and ensuring environmental sustainability.

Half the world’s population — nearly 3.5 billion people — resides in rural districts and far flung communities, representing the poorer, less educated, and more deprived cousins of the world’s urban citizens. Among them are as many as 1.4 billion of the world’s extremely poor people, who are also among the least connected to the benefits of ICTs. We cannot allow this situation to continue. It is time for global action to connect rural communities to the opportunities offered by ICTs.

ITU is committed to connecting the world and to ensuring that the benefits of ICTs reach the remotest corners as well as the most vulnerable communities. I am proud to say that our work at ITU in developing the standards for ICTs, managing vital spectrum and orbital resources, mobilizing the necessary technical, human and financial resources, and strengthening emergency response in the aftermath of devastating natural disasters has met with unprecedented success as we enter the second decade of this millennium.

Although mobile penetration has spread rapidly with over 5.3 billion subscribers worldwide, the thrust now is to drive content through enhanced broadband access aimed at establishing the information and communication highways — networks that will feed both rural communities and urban centres with the means to meet their development goals and aspirations. ITU’s leadership role in the Broadband Commission for Digital Development is aimed at increasing the roll out of this state-of-the-art technology to firmly establish a universally accessible knowledge-based information society.

I urge you to celebrate World Telecommunication and Information Society Day this year by focusing on connecting people around the world and harnessing the full potential of ICTs so that we can all enjoy a more productive, peaceful and — in every way — a better life, particularly in rural areas.

Hamadoun I. Touré
ITU Secretary-General
 

 


Top - Feedback - Contact Us -  Copyright © ITU 2011 All Rights Reserved
Contact for this page : External Affairs and Corporate Communication Division
Updated : 2011-04-15