国际电信联盟   ITU
عربي  |  English  |  Español  |  Français  |  Русский
 
 高级搜索 高级搜索 网页索引 请与我们联系 打印版
 
主页 : WTISD
   
世界电信和信息社会日,2011年5月17日
国际电信联盟, 秘书长, 哈玛德图埃博士的致辞

信息通信技术让农村生活更美好

 



信息通信技术(ICT)不断改变着世界上人们交流的方式。与此同时,长期、可持续的ICT发展亦为人民,尤其是我们社会中的最弱势群体,创造着过上更好生活的机遇。

今年国际电联146周年的庆典活动将关注全球的农村社区,以体现我们为使世界最偏远角落的人们享受到ICT的福祉所做出的努力。

如今,ICT大力推动着全球经济发展,为实现可持续的经济增长和繁荣提供了现实的解决方案。ICT还是加速实现千年发展目标的催化剂。

在农村,ICT为增加收入和战胜贫困、饥饿、疾病和文盲提供了机遇。ICT及相关电子应用是完善管理和提供农村服务的重要工具,这些服务包括提供社区医保、安全饮水与卫生服务、教育、食品和居所;提高产妇健康水平并降低儿童死亡率;赋予妇女和社会较弱势群体各种能力;确保环境的可持续性。

全球半数人口( 近35亿人)居住在农村地区和偏远社区,他们是全球城市居民的同胞,但往往比城市居民贫穷,教育水平低、生活条件差。他们当中有多达14亿人是世界上最贫困且极少受益于ICT的人口。我们不能允许这种状况持续下去。现在是开展全球行动,让农村社区迎来ICT提供的机遇的时候了。

国际电联致力于连通世界,致力于确保最边远地区和最弱势群体亦能受益于ICT。在我们跨入本世纪第二个十年之际,我可以自豪地说,国际电联在所开展的ICT标准制定、关键的频谱和轨道资源管理、必要的技术、人力和财力资源筹措以及加强毁灭性自然灾害发生后的应急反应机制等方面,均取得了前所未有的成果。

移动业务发展迅猛,全球用户已突破53亿,目前的工作重点是通过强化宽带接入推进内容的发展,从而建成信息通信高速公路---即,建成能够利用各种手段,使农村社区和城市均能实现其发展目标与抱负的网络。国际电联在宽带数字发展委员会中发挥的领导作用就是,大力推广此类最先进的技术,为一个面向大众的知识型信息社会奠定坚实基础。

在庆祝今年的世界电信和信息社会日之时,我谨敦促各位特别关注连通世界各国人民和充分利用ICT潜力的问题,只有这样才能让人人(尤其是农村地区的人们)都过上更富成效、更为祥和以及在方方面面均更为美好的生活。

 
秘书长
哈玛德图埃博士


 

 

 

回到页首 -  反馈意见 - 请与我们联系 - 版权 © 国际电联 2011 年 版权所有
本网页联系人: 世界电信和信息社会日,5月17日
最近更新日期: 2011-05-16

International Telecommunication Union   ITU
عربي  |  中文  |  Español  |  Français  |  Русский
 
 Advanced Search Advanced Search Site Map Contact us Print Version
 
Home : WTISD
   
World Telecommunication and Information Society Day, 17 May 2011
Message from Dr Hamadoun I. Touré,  ITU Secretary-General

Better Life in Rural Communities with ICTs

 


 

ICTs are constantly reshaping the way the world communicates while creating opportunities for a better life through long-term, sustainable development, not least among the most disadvantaged sections of our society.

This year, as we celebrate ITU’s 146th anniversary, we focus our attention on the world’s rural communities in our quest to connect the remotest corners to the benefits of ICTs.

Today, ICTs are the powerhouses of the global economy and offer real solutions towards generating sustainable economic growth and prosperity. ICTs also act as catalysts in accelerating progress towards meeting the Millennium Development Goals.

In the rural context, ICTs provide enhanced opportunities to generate income and combat poverty, hunger, ill health and illiteracy. ICTs and related e-applications are key instruments in improving governance and rural services, such as providing community health care, safe drinking water and sanitation, education, food and shelter; improving maternal health and reducing child mortality; empowering women and the more vulnerable members of society; and ensuring environmental sustainability.

Half the world’s population — nearly 3.5 billion people — resides in rural districts and far flung communities, representing the poorer, less educated, and more deprived cousins of the world’s urban citizens. Among them are as many as 1.4 billion of the world’s extremely poor people, who are also among the least connected to the benefits of ICTs. We cannot allow this situation to continue. It is time for global action to connect rural communities to the opportunities offered by ICTs.

ITU is committed to connecting the world and to ensuring that the benefits of ICTs reach the remotest corners as well as the most vulnerable communities. I am proud to say that our work at ITU in developing the standards for ICTs, managing vital spectrum and orbital resources, mobilizing the necessary technical, human and financial resources, and strengthening emergency response in the aftermath of devastating natural disasters has met with unprecedented success as we enter the second decade of this millennium.

Although mobile penetration has spread rapidly with over 5.3 billion subscribers worldwide, the thrust now is to drive content through enhanced broadband access aimed at establishing the information and communication highways — networks that will feed both rural communities and urban centres with the means to meet their development goals and aspirations. ITU’s leadership role in the Broadband Commission for Digital Development is aimed at increasing the roll out of this state-of-the-art technology to firmly establish a universally accessible knowledge-based information society.

I urge you to celebrate World Telecommunication and Information Society Day this year by focusing on connecting people around the world and harnessing the full potential of ICTs so that we can all enjoy a more productive, peaceful and — in every way — a better life, particularly in rural areas.

Hamadoun I. Touré
ITU Secretary-General
 

 


Top - Feedback - Contact Us -  Copyright © ITU 2011 All Rights Reserved
Contact for this page : External Affairs and Corporate Communication Division
Updated : 2011-04-15