Logo SMSI Sommet Mondial sur la Société de l'information
Nations Unies (ONU)  l'Union internationale des télécommunications  

 

 

 


  

Déclaration

de

S. A. R. le Prince Saud AL-FAISAL

Ministre des Affaires Etrangères

et Chef de la Délégation du Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite

au Sommet mondial sur la société de l'information

 

 

Genève

10 Décembre 2003

 

 

 

Au nom de Dieu le Tout Miséricordieux, le Très Miséricordieux

 

Son Excellence le Président de la Confédération helvétique, le Président du Sommet,

 

Son Excellence le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies,

 

Son Excellence Zine el-Abidine BEN ALI, le Président de 1a République du pays hote,

 

Son Excellence le Secrétaire général de l'Union internationale des télécommunications,

 

Mesdames et Messieurs,

 

J'ai l'honneur de vous transmettre les félicitations sincères du Gardien des Lieux Saints, le Roi Fahd bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, du Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite, vous souhaitant succès et réussite. Je voudrais aussi exprimer le plaisir de la délégation saoudienne à participer à cette conférence et sa gratitude pour non seulement pour l'État tunisien, frère, pour son initiative de proposer cette idée, mais aussi pour l'Union internationale des télécommunications, les Nations Unies et agences spécialisées pour leurs efforts dans la préparation de ce Sommet, ainsi que pour la Confédération helvétique de l'accueillir.

 

 

 

Mesdames et Messieurs,

 

Le monde connaît aujourd'hui une révolution de l'information qui dépasse largement la révolution industrielle qu'a connue le monde au milieu du dix-huitième siècle. Tous les participants à ce Sommet seront sûrement d'accord sur le fait que l'évolution rapide dans la société de l'information ait influencé de façon énorme le cours des changements socio-économiques à travers le monde, ce monde qui est vraiment devenu un village universel.

 

Comme l'objectif de la communauté internationale est d'assurer la prospérité économique, le bien être et le progrès pour ses peuples, les télécommunications et la technologie de l'information constituent eux l'un des éléments essentiels pour l'avancement et le développement des Etats et le renforcement de leur potentiel économique, social et culturel.

 

Pour sa part, le Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite, constatant l'importance du secteur des télécommunications et la de l'information, a adopté un plan national pertinent et intégré et a approuvé les cadres éducationnels, législatifs et techniques nécessaires pour réaliser cet objectif. Le Royaume a aussi établi des mécanismes d'application et de supervision appropriés et a formulé les stratégies nécessaires pour promouvoir une prise de conscience plus générale des avantages de ce secteur et pour entraîner et fournir les ressources humaines nécessaires à l'utilisation et le développement de ses applications technologiques dans différents domaines, comme par exemple le commerce électronique et la gouvernance électronique... etc.

 

Le Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite a aussi transféré l'opération de son système des télécommunications d'une agence gouvernementale à une société commerciale très compétente. Le résultat de toutes ces mesures, durant les cinq dernières années, est que le réseau des télécommunications a été modernisé et développé dans un réseau digital complet couvrant même les régions rurales les plus éloignées et fournissant plusieurs services modernes.

 

Mesdames et Messieurs,

 

Le fossé digital entre les pays développés et ceux en voie de développement continue à s'agrandir. Nous pensons que ce fossé peut être réduit seulement grâce à un travail commun dans le but d'accomplir une croissance équilibrée du secteur des télécommunications et de l'information dans tous les pays du monde, de façon à garantir tout son élan et, par conséquent, faciliter la communication et le contact parmi les peuples. Par conséquent, le Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite croit que ces efforts doivent être faits pour établir une infrastructure intégrée pour le secteur des télécommunications et de l'information afin d'assurer l'avancement des sociétés et augmenter leurs niveaux de développement, puisque le développement de ce secteur est une condition préalable pour réduire le fossé digital sus-mentionné, ce qui donnera à tout le monde les mêmes chances pour bénéficier des avantages de la technologie de l'information. Pour ce faire, nous devrions créer les formules fondamentales afin d'assurer l'accès complet et universel aux télécommunications et à la technologie de l'information et de propager cette technologie dans les pays en voie de développement et les pays moins développés.

 

Mesdames et Messieurs,

 

Nous supposons qu'il est nécessaire que les documents contenant la Déclaration des principes et le Plan d'action soient harmonisés de façon consistante avec la Charte des Nations Unies et les obligations des Etats qui découlent de leur accès aux instruments internationaux. Il ne devrait pas y avoir une incompatibilité entre ces deux documents et les législations intérieures de chaque pays. L'identité culturelle et la diversité éducationnelle et linguistique ainsi que les traditions et les religions devraient être respectées si nous voulions que ces deux documents contribuent à la promotion du contact et du dialogue entre les civilisations.

 

La Société de l'information, comme la société humaine elle-même, a ses avantages et ses inconvénients et, par conséquent, elle exige des règles sans arbitrage et une gestion sans hégémonie puisque la libre circulation des informations écarte toute imposition, restriction ou modification de ce type. Cependant, la liberté doit avoir des normes et des limites, sans lesquelles la société devient anarchique. Vu cette dichotomie inhérente dans la société humaine, nous devons établir clairement des mécanismes bien définis afin de gérer cette nouvelle société pour minimiser ou éliminer ses aspects négatifs, comme par exemple son utilisation pour des fins immorales, terroristes ou criminelles. Nous devrions aussi montrer une préoccupation commune envers les questions de la sécurité des réseaux de l'information afin de permettre à chaque Etat de protéger ses réseaux et ses systèmes d'information contre les accès potentiels illicites, les falsifications ou les sabotages. D'où l'importance que la gestion des l'Internet soit confiée à une instance régulatrice qui respecte les règles de la loi internationale afin d'assurer que son utilisation et sa gestion soient faites d'une manière équitable et transparente.

 

Monsieur le Président,

 

Mesdames et Messieurs,

 

Le Royaume de l'Arabie Saoudite souhaite confirmer son désir sincère et sa volonté de coopérer de toutes les manières qui mènent à l'accomplissement des résultats espérés de cette conférence, ce qui demande un contrôle continu et un grand effort afin d'assurer leur application en coordination avec l'Union internationale des télécommunications.

 

Pour conclure, j'aimerais remercier leurs Excellences le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies Monsieur Kofi ANNAN et le Secrétaire général de l'Union internationale des télécommunications ainsi que la Confédération helvétique, pour les efforts qu'ils ont faits pour la préparation et l'organisation de la première phase de ce Sommet. J'aimerais aussi souhaiter à l'Etat tunisien tout le succès dans son organisation et son accueil pour la deuxième phase du Sommet qui aura lieu, si Dieu le veut, durant l'année 2005.

 

Merci

 

information de base | première phase: Genève | deuxième phase: Tunis | inventaire | salle de presse | liens

Début de page - Droit d'auteur © SMSI 2006 Tout droits réservés - Logo du SMSI
Confidentialité des informations
Mis à jour le 2003-12-11

WSIS Logo
United Nations  International Telecommunication Union  

 

 

 

 

STATEMENT

BY

H. R. H. Prince Saud AL-FAISAL

Minister for Foreign Affairs

and Head of the Delegation of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

 

at the World Summit on the Information Society

10 - 12 December 2003

 

Geneva

10 December 2003

 

 

 

In the Name of God, the Merciful, the Compassionate

 

 

Your Excellency the President of the Swiss Confederation, Chairman of the Summit,

Your Excellency the Secretary-General of the United Nations, which is sponsoring the Summit,

Your Excellency President Zine el-Abidine ben Ali, President of the Republic of the country hosting the Second Phase of the Summit,

Your Majesties, Highnesses and Excellencies and Heads of Delegations,

Your Excellency the Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union,

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

I have the honour to convey to your distinguished gathering the sincere greetings of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Fahd bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, King of Saudi Arabia, together with his best wishes for the success. I would also like to say that the Kingdom's delegation is delighted to be participating in this conference and is most grateful not only to the sister State of Tunisia for its initiative in proposing the idea but also to the International Telecommunication Union, the United Nations and its specialized agencies for their efforts in planning this Summit and to the Swiss Confederation for hosting it.

 

 

 

 

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The world is currently witnessing an information revolution that greatly transcends in many ways the industrial revolution that took place in the middle of the eighteenth century. All the participants in this Summit would certainly agree that this rapid evolution in the information society has greatly helped to influence the course of socio-economic changes throughout the world.

 

While the main aim of the international community is to ensure economic prosperity, well-being and progress for its peoples, telecommunications and information technology constitutes one of the linchpins for the advancement and development of States and the enhancement of their economic, social and cultural potential.

 

For its part, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, realizing the importance of the telecommunications and information sector, has adopted a pertinent integrated national plan and approved the educational, legislative and technical frameworks needed for that purpose. The Kingdom has established appropriate implementing and supervisory mechanisms and has formulated the strategies needed to promote broader awareness of the sector's benefits and to train and provide the human resources required for the utilization and development of its technological applications in various fields, such as electronic commerce and electronic government, etc. The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has also transferred the operation of its telecommunications system from a governmental agency to an efficient commercial company. As a result of all these measures, during the last five years the telecommunications network has been modernized and developed into a fully digitalized network covering even the remotest rural areas and providing numerous modern services.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The digital gap between the developed and the developing countries is continuing to expand. We believe that this gap can be closed only through joint endeavours to achieve balanced growth of the telecommunications and information sector in all countries of the world in such a way as to guarantee its full scope.

 

Accordingly, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia believes that efforts must be made to establish an integrated infrastructure for the telecommunications and information sector to ensure the advancement of societies and boost their rates of development, since the development of this sector is an essential prerequisite to narrow the above-mentioned digital gap so that all will have an equal opportunity to share in the benefits of information technology. To this end, we must agree on basic ways to ensure full and universal access to telecommunications and information technology and to propagate this technology in the developing and least developed countries.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

We deem it quite necessary that the two documents containing the Declaration of Principles and the Plan of Action should be harmonized in a manner consistent with the Charter of the United Nations and the obligations of States resulting from their accession to the relevant international instruments. There should be no incompatibility between those two documents and the domestic legislation of any State. Cultural identity and educational and linguistic diversity, as well as traditions and religions, must be respected if these two documents are to contribute to the promotion of contact and dialogue among civilizations.

 

The information society, like human society itself, contains both good and bad and, therefore, requires regulation without arbitrariness and management without hegemony since a free flow of information precludes any imposition, restriction or modification of its type. However, freedom must have norms and limits, without which society would become anarchic. In view of this inherent dichotomy in human society, there is a need to establish clearly defined mechanisms to regulate this new society in order to minimize or eliminate its negative aspects, such as its use for immoral, terrorist or criminal purposes. We should also show joint concern for questions of information security in order to enable every State to protect its information networks and systems from potential illicit access, tampering or sabotage. Hence, it is important that the task of managing the Internet be assigned to a regulatory body subject to rules of international law in order to ensure that it is utilized and run in an equitable and transparent manner.

 

Mr. Chairman,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia wishes to confirm its sincere desire and willingness to cooperate in any manner conducive to the achievement of the desired results of this Conference, which will require ongoing monitoring and diligent endeavours to ensure their implementation in coordination with the International Telecommunication Union.

 

In conclusion, I would like to thank H.E. Mr. Kofi Annan, the Secretary-General of the United Nations, and H.E. the Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union, as well as the Swiss Confederation, for their commendable efforts to prepare and organize the first phase of this Summit. I also wish the sister State of Tunisia every success in its organization and hosting of the second phase of the Summit which will be held, God willing, in the year 2005.

Thank you all.

 

 

basic information | first phase: Geneva | second phase: Tunis | stocktaking | newsroom | links

Top - Copyright ę WSIS 2006 All Rights Reserved - Logo Policy
Privacy Notice
Updated : 2003-12-11