COMITÉ PRÉPARATOIRE  DU SMSI

Sommet Mondial sur la Société de l’Information, Genève, 10 – 12 décembre 2003

Discours du Président du PrepCom

A la Cérémonie d’Ouverture officielle du SMSI

 

Intervention de S. E Monsieur Adama Samassékou

Président du PrepCom du SMSI

Président de l’Académie Africaine Langues

Ancien Ministre de l’Education du Mali

 

Excellence, Monsieur le Président de la Confédération suisse,
Excellence, Monsieur le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies,
Excellence, Monsieur le Président de la Tunisie,
Excellences, Mesdames, Messieurs les Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernements,Monsieur le Secrétaire général de l’UIT,Excellences, Mesdames, Messieurs les Ministres,
Mesdames, Messieurs les Représentants des Organisations intergouvernementales,
Mesdames, Messieurs les Représentants du Secteur privé et de la Société civile,
Excellences,
Mesdames, Messieurs
 
Nous voici à mi-chemin du long voyage qui doit nous mener de la société de l’information vers la société de la connaissance et des savoirs partagés. Pour ce voyage, nous sommes venus de toutes les régions du monde, d’Afrique, d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, d’Asie pacifique, d’Europe orientale et d’Europe occidentale et autres. Nous, gouvernements, organisations internationales, secteur privé, société civile. 

Chacun est venu avec ses rêves. Tout au long de notre longue marche vers le Sommet, face à la complexité de la situation, nous avons regardé à gauche, à droite, et nous avons vu les précipices, les fossés, les fractures ; nous avons vu le cauchemar de notre monde d’aujourd’hui, un monde de plus en plus en proie à une violence inouïe qui s’immisce jusque dans nos maisons, un monde de plus en plus clivé entre les riches et les pauvres, entre ceux qui sont instruits et ceux qui ne savent ni lire ni écrire, entre ceux qui détiennent les informations et ceux qui en sont privés, entre ceux qui savent et ceux qui ne savent pas, entre ceux qui gouvernent et ceux qui sont administrés… Et nous avons compris qu’il le sera davantage, si des mesures urgentes ne sont pas prises, si nous en restons au constat de Johannesburg où les plus hautes autorités des pays les plus puissants du monde se sont accordées à dire que de Rio à Johannesburg, dix ans après des engagements très forts, les pays pauvres continuent de devenir plus pauvres et les pays riches plus riches…

Alors, nous avons essayé de rêver ensemble et nous avons appris à travailler ensemble, à mieux nous connaître, à respecter nos identités et nous avons su construire ensemble une vision partagée qui nous permet aujourd’hui de présenter à votre haute appréciation le fruit de cette longue gestation : 

Quand on rêve tout seul, ce n’est qu’un rêve, mais quand on rêve à plusieurs, c’est déjà le début de la réalité ! 

Tout au long de cette longue marche, des dynamiques nationales aux sessions du Comité de préparation en passant par les conférences régionales et les initiatives heureuses des villes et de toutes les organisations internationales, en particulier celles de l’UNESCO, de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie et de la Ligue arabe, nous avons pu trouver les moyens de dépasser la sécheresse des discussions sur la procédure, grâce à une certaine hydratation de nos débats par les multiples contributions qui ont su rester dans le sens. Et nous avons su le faire en respectant des principes fondés sur les valeurs cardinales d’inclusion, de partenariat et de solidarité. A cet égard, je suis heureux de saluer l’émergence d’un partenariat quasi institutionnel entre la société civile, à travers son Bureau International, le secteur privé, à travers son Comité de Coordination des interlocuteurs du secteur privé, et les gouvernements à travers le Bureau du Comité de préparation du Sommet. 

C’est le lieu pour moi de remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué au résultat auquel nous sommes aujourd’hui parvenus ensemble : Monsieur le Président de la Confédération suisse et toute l’équipe du pays hôte de cette première phase, Monsieur le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies et ses collaboratrices et collaborateurs, Monsieur le Secrétaire général de l’UIT et tout son personnel, Monsieur le Directeur du Secrétariat Exécutif du Sommet et toute son équipe, l’équipe de Tunisie, pays hôte de la deuxième phase, et bien sûr, tous les participants du processus préparatoire. 

Ce que nous aurons réussi ensemble, c’est ce nouvel esprit de coopération et d’ouverture à l’Autre ! 

Aujourd’hui, ici à Genève, nous marquons le début d’un processus en examinant les moyens de mettre la révolution du numérique au service d’un développement humain solidaire. 

Demain, à Tunis, s’il plaît à Dieu, nous renforcerons les perspectives dégagées durant cette première phase, tout en élargissant notre vision. 

En effet, l’ambition du Sommet Mondial sur la Société de l’Information, qui visiblement concerne un projet sociétal global, est un défi immense. Au-delà même des enjeux technologiques et sociétaux, se dessine une vision encore plus englobante. 

S’il est vrai que la société de l’information permet la circulation de l’information et du savoir sur la terre entière, s’il est vrai que l’ensemble de l’humanité peut désormais potentiellement partager ses connaissances et ses savoir-faire, s’il est vrai que la création et la diffusion de contenus éducatifs, scientifiques, culturels, informatifs ou récréatifs sont rendues possibles pour toutes les populations à travers le monde, alors on peut envisager une nouvelle solidarité entre les êtres humains, les groupes sociaux et les nations dans le monde entier, une solidarité basée sur le partage des savoirs, une solidarité véritable fondée sur une meilleure connaissance de l’Autre et sur le respect mutuel. 

C’est là que prend tout son sens le concept de la Solidarité Numérique que nous prônons avec le Président Abdoulaye Wade du Sénégal. 

C’est là aussi que se manifeste toute l’envergure de ce nouveau type de Sommet. Non seulement par la préoccupation d’intégration de tous les grands acteurs de la société de l’information et par l’approche participative, non seulement par le lancement de nouveaux partenariats au niveau international et par la vision d’une solidarité globale entre les peuples et les nations, mais également et surtout par l’ambition politique de renforcer le multilatéral sous une nouvelle forme. 

Et ce, partant de la nécessité évidente d’une approche commune internationale des grands problèmes de notre planète, pour lesquels des solutions globales doivent être trouvées qui respectent la diversité culturelle et linguistique ainsi que les spécificités des nations et des régions du monde. 

Le Sommet Mondial sur la Société de l’Information ouvre ainsi la voie à une nouvelle ère dans laquelle des Sommets des Nations Unies pourraient être convoqués, à intervalle régulier, pour débattre, d’une manière participative, des problèmes actuels de notre société globale qui ne peuvent plus, désormais, être résolus uniquement dans le cadre des politiques nationales ou régionales. 

J’ai en effet la profonde conviction que ce Sommet, parce qu’il a trait à la politique globale de la société humaine dans son ensemble, pourrait être le prélude à une nouvelle génération de Sommets : il est souhaitable, probablement indispensable, dans ce monde de plus en plus globalisé, d’effectuer le saut qualitatif qui permettra de passer des Conférences des Nations Unies sur les questions de développement à des Sommets de Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement, convoqués tous les deux ou trois ans, à la faveur desquels les grands décideurs du monde, c’est-à-dire les plus hautes Autorités de tous les Etats membres des Nations Unies, partie prenante à part égale de l’avenir de notre planète, se retrouveront pour discuter des grandes questions de la société du futur en construction, sur la base de rapports préparés par les grands acteurs de la Société de l’Information de la Communication et des Savoirs partagés, et bâtir progressivement ce nouveau Projet de société planétaire fondé sur des valeurs de Solidarité et de partage.          

Plus que jamais, il est vital de conjuguer nos efforts pour arrêter le processus de déshumanisation de notre planète. Le Sommet Mondial sur la Société de l’Information nous en offre l’opportunité. 

Continuons donc à oeuvrer ensemble, en poursuivant notre voyage vers Tunis et au-delà, pour que ce premier Sommet du troisième Millénaire que l’on pourrait appeler Sommet Mondial de la Solidarité, contribue à faire de la société de l’information, fille de la révolution numérique, une véritable société de la communication humaine, de la connaissance et des savoirs partagés, condition sine qua non d’un nouveau Dialogue mondial pour la Paix et d’une nouvelle communication internationale, fondés sur plus d’écoute, d’échange, de partage et de solidarité active entre les nations et entre les citoyens de notre planète. 

Que Dieu nous assiste dans la réalisation de cette grande et belle entreprise humaine !
              
Je vous remercie de votre aimable attention.

WSIS PREPARATORY COMMITTEE

World Summit on the Information SocietyGeneva, 10-12 December 2003


ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE PREPCOMTO THE OFFICIAL OPENING CEREMONY OF WSIS

ADDRESS BY H.E. MR ADAMA SAMASSEKOU


PRESIDENT OF THE WSIS PREPARATORY COMMITTEE
PRESIDENT OF THE AFRICAN ACADEMY OF LANGUAGES
FORMER MINISTER OF EDUCATION OF MALI

Your Excellency, Mr President of the Swiss Confederation,
Your Excellency Mr Secretary-General of the United Nations,
Your Excellency, Mr President of Tunisia,
Your Excellencies, Heads of State and Government,
Mr Secretary-General of ITU,
Distinguished Ministers,
Representatives of intergovernmental organizations,
Representatives of the private sector and of civil society,
Excellencies,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

We now find ourselves halfway through the long journey that should take us from the information society into the knowledge and shared know-how society. In order to make this journey, we have come together from all the regions of the world, including Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, Pacific Asia, and eastern and western Europe. And when I say we, I refer to governments, international organizations, the private sector and civil society.

All of us have come here with our dreams. Throughout our long march towards the Summit, in full awareness of the complexity of the situation, we would look to the left and to the right and see the precipices, gulfs and divides; we would see the nightmare of the world in which we now live, a world increasingly in the grip of an unprecedented level of violence that finds its way into our very homes, a world increasingly split between rich and poor, between the educated and those unable to read or write, between those who have access to information and those to whom such access is denied, between those who have knowledge and those who do not, between those who govern and those who are governed...And it became clear to us that this situation will only become worse unless urgent measures are taken, given the conclusions drawn at Johannesburg, where the highest authorities of the world’s most powerful countries concurred that in the ten years that had elapsed since major commitments had been made in Rio, the poor countries had continued to grow poorer while the rich countries had become still more wealthy…

Thus it is that we have sought to combine our dreams, learning to work together and understand one another better while respecting our respective identities, in the interests of constructing a shared vision – a vision which, as the fruit of this lengthy period of gestation, we now put forward for your high consideration:

When one dreams alone it is but a dream, but where the same dream is shared by many it is already on the way to becoming reality!

Throughout this long march, with the national inputs at the sessions of the Preparatory Committee and with the regional conferences and the well-founded initiatives of the cities and of all the international organizations, particularly UNESCO, the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie and the Arab League, we were able to go beyond the dryness of the procedural discussions thanks to the hydration of our debates by the many contributions focusing on our true purpose. And we did so while adhering to principles founded on the fundamental values of inclusion, partnership and solidarity, in which regard, it gives me pleasure to hail the emergence of an almost institutional partnership between civil society, through its International Bureau, the private sector, through the Coordinating Committee of Business Interlocutors, and governments, through the Bureau of the Summit Preparatory Committee.

This is the right moment for me to express my gratitude to all those who have contributed to the result that we have now achieved through our joint efforts: to the President of the Swiss Confederation and all of the team from the host country for this first phase; to the Secretary-General of the United Nations and his colleagues; to the Secretary-General of the International Telecommunication Union and all his staff; to the Director of the Executive Secretariat of the Summit and all his team; to the team from Tunisia, the country that will be hosting the second phase; and, of course, to all the participants in the preparatory process.

What we have together succeeded in bringing about is a new spirit of cooperation and of openness towards others!

Today, here in Geneva, we are marking the beginning of a process as we consider how to place the digital revolution at the service of human development based on solidarity.

Tomorrow, in Tunis, if God so wishes, we shall consolidate the approaches derived from this first phase while working to broaden our vision.

Indeed, the ambition of the World Summit on the Information Society, which clearly involves a societal project of global proportions, represents an immense challenge. And beyond all of the technological and social considerations, a vision is emerging that is even more all-encompassing.

If it is true that the information society enables information and knowledge to circulate freely around the planet, and that all the members of humankind are now in a position to share their knowledge and know-how, and if it is true that the creation and dissemination of educational, scientific, cultural, news and entertainment content have become a possibility for all peoples everywhere, then we can now look forward to a new solidarity among human beings, social groups and nations worldwide – a solidarity based on the sharing of knowledge; a genuine solidarity founded on a better awareness of others and on mutual respect.

It is here that the concept of “digital solidarity” that we are advocating together with President Abdoulaye Wade of Senegal comes into its own.

It is here, too, that the tremendous scope of this new type of summit becomes evident, in terms not only of the desire for integration on the part of all the key players in the information society, of the participatory approach, of the launching of new partnerships at the international level and of the vision of global solidarity among peoples and nations, but also, and above all, in terms of the political aspiration to strengthen multilateralism in a new form.

And all of this starting from the clear necessity for a shared international approach to the major problems facing our planet, for which global solutions need to be found which respect both cultural and linguistic diversity and the characteristics inherent to each of the different nations and regions of the world.

The World Summit on the Information Society thus opens the way to a new era in which United Nations summits could be convened on a regular basis to debate, in a participatory manner, current problems facing our global society which can now no longer be resolved solely within the framework of national or regional policies.

It is indeed my profound conviction that this Summit, dealing as it does with global policy for human society as a whole, could be the prelude to a new generation of summits. In this ever more globalized world it is desirable – and probably essential – that we make the qualitative leap that will take us from United Nations conferences on development issues to summits of Heads of State and Government, convened every two or three years, enabling the world’s key decision-makers, i.e. the highest officials of all the United Nations Member States, as equal stakeholders in the future of our planet, to come together to discuss the major issues pertaining to the future society in the making, on the basis of reports drawn up by the major players in the information, communication and shared knowledge society, and progressively to build this new planetary society founded on the values of solidarity and sharing.

It is now, more than ever, vital that we should combine our efforts in order to end the process of dehumanization of our planet. The World Summit on the Information Society affords us an opportunity to do that.

Let us therefore continue to work together as we pursue our journey towards Tunis and beyond, in order that this first summit of the third millennium, that could also be known as the World Summit on Solidarity, should help to transform the information society – offspring of the digital revolution – into a genuine society of human communication, knowledge and shared know-how, this being an essential condition for a new global dialogue for peace and for a new type of international communication, founded on a greater readiness to listen, exchange and share, and on more active solidarity between the nations and the citizens of our planet.

May God assist us in the realization of this great and glorious human undertaking!

Thank you for your kind attention.