PDF Version

Mr Mohamed Nasser Al Ghanim

  • Mr Mohamed Nasser Al Ghanim
  • Director General
  • Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA)
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Panel Session
  • PSN3 : The ITU: Discovering a New Relevance in a Multi-Stakeholder World - The Lessons of WCIT 2012
  • Jupiter 10
  • Friday, 22 November 2013 15:15 - 16:45
  • Panellists

  • Ministerial Roundtable
  • MRG : From Smart Solutions to Smart City Societies
  • Jupiter 4+5
  • Thursday, 21 November 2013 09:00 - 10:15
  • Panellists


H.E. Mohamed Nasser Al Ghanim is the Director General of the Telecommunications Regulatory Authority. He is described as a telecom and ICT veteran and is one of the highly experienced telecom and ICT professional in the region. Under his able chairmanship the ITU successfully held the World Conference on International Telecommunication (WCIT) during December 2012. His role in reaching a balanced and comprehensive treaty at the WCIT was highly regarded by the entire delegations.

Under the supervision and management of Al Ghanim, the TRA succeeded in implementing the regulatory framework of the sector through developing the necessary policies and regulations. Al Ghanim seeks through several initiatives and projects launched by the TRA to improve the telecom sector’s market in the UAE in order to compete internationally by focusing further on the growth of scientific knowledge in Information and Communications Technology (ICT) and by promoting skills and national human capital in areas related to the sector.

Moreover, Al Ghanim currently chairs the Spectrum Coordination Committee and is also the chair of UAE World Summit on Information Society Committee. Previously he was in charge of the UAE Telecom and e–Commerce chapters during the Free Trade Agreement negotiations between the UAE, USA, and Australia and occupied a number of posts in the past including Vice-Chairman of the UAE Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Fund (2006-2009), Chairman of the UAE Institute for Advanced Science and Technology (2006-2009), and Board member of National Media Council (2008-2010).