International Telecommunication Union   ITU
Site Map Contact us Print Version
 Monday, 18 October 2010 Garg to represent Asia on ITU Radio Regulation Board

NEW DELHI: The former Wireless Adviser to the Government, P K Garg, has been elected to represent Asia on the Radio Regulations Board of the International Telecommunication Union.

The other two members elected are Yasuhiko Ito from Japan who took 120 votes and Ali R. Ebadi from Malaysia (93 votes). Garg received 78 votes. Members are elected to represent Region E, Asia, and Australasia.


India was also elected among the 13 members on the ITU Council, getting 119 of the 161 votes. The other members are Indonesia, China, Japan, Malaysia, Republic of Korea, Bangladesh, Thailand, Australia, India, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, and the Philippines.

The elections took place at the ongoing ITU’s 18th Plenipotentiary conference at Mexico. This meet takes place every four years.