Committed to connecting the world

Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
Kyung Hee University (Korea (Rep. of))
University College of Bahrain (Bahrain)
State University of Telecommunication (Ukraine)
N-SOFT Technology SA (Mali)
Romanian Maritime Training Centre - CERONAV (Romania)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
Centre de Recherche en Numérique de Sfax (Tunisia)
Fondazione Ugo Bordoni (Italy)
Colegio de Ingenieros Mecánicos y Electricistas, A.C. (Mexico)
Gallaudet University (United States)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Higher Colleges of Technology (United Arab Emirates)
ADD International (Bangladesh)
Lodz University of Technology (Poland)
China International Telecommunication Construction Corporati (China)
World University of Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Rep.)
Instituto Especializado de Estudios Superiores Loyola (Dominican Rep.)
Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (Korea (Rep. of))
University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Bournemouth University (United Kingdom)
The University of Zambia School of Natural Sciences (Zambia)
Bharat Broadband Network Limited (India)
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
Mastercard Worldwide (United States)
Panasonic Corporation (Japan)
Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)
Iran University of Science & Technology (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Agence Ivoirienne de Gestion des Fréquences (AIGF) (Côte d
Space Exploration Technologies Corp. (United States)
Millicom (United Kingdom)
Cryptosoft Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Chongqing University (China)
Birkbeck College University of London (United Kingdom)
Colegio Oficial de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación (Spain)
Bangkok University (Thailand)
Facebook (United States)
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and (Croatia)
OneWeb (United Kingdom)
Chulalongkorn University, Faculty of Engineering (Thailand)



The Open University of Tanzania

The Open University of Tanzania (OUT) was established by an Act of Parliament No. 17 of 1992. It is a single mode institution offering certificate, diploma and degree courses through distance learning. Its Headquarters is situated in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. The Open University of Tanzania is a fully fledged and accredited public institution of higher learning being autonomous and mandated to conduct academic programmes leading to certificate, diplomas, undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications.

CategoryEducation & Research
Based inTanzania (United Republic of)
ITU Global DirectoryThe Open University of Tanzania
Vice Chancellor    
Tolly S. A. Mbwette

Prof. Mbwette is a holder of a BSc. Engineering (Hons) degree specialized in Civil Engineering since 1981. He has gained a wide range of management experiences of higher education institutions at both micro and macro levels. He has for the last twenty nine years been a team leader of various multi-disciplinary research teams responsible for treatment of both drinking and wastewater treatment systems that rely on bio-systems. He has a broad experience in management of higher education institutions initially through being an Associate Dean responsible for Research, Publications and Postgraduate Studies for three years in the former Faculty of Engineering at University of Dar es Salaam after which he assisted the UDSM Vice Chancellor in Coordinating the much acclaimed University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) Transformation Programme for eight years between July 1994 and April, 2002. Prof. Mbwette has also participated and been involved in co-ordination of a number of co-operation programmes between Europe and America and Universities in Africa ranging from East, Central and Southern Africa