Committed to connecting the world

Escuela Politécnica Nacional (Ecuador)
Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul (LABEL (Brazil)
Ajman University of Science and Technology (United Arab Emirates)
Royal Holloway, University of London (United Kingdom)
Grenoble Ecole de Management (France)
VimpelCom Group (Netherlands)
Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. (Korea (Rep. of))
Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina (Argentina)
Universidad de Belgrano (Argentina)
National Law University Delhi (India)
Universitaria Agustiniana (Colombia)
Hubei University (China)
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de Caldas (Colombia)
Institut Mines-Télécom (France)
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (Saudi Arabia)
Kyung Hee University (Korea (Rep. of))
University College of Bahrain (Bahrain)
State University of Telecommunication (Ukraine)
N-SOFT Technology SA (Mali)
Romanian Maritime Training Centre - CERONAV (Romania)
Kuwait Telecommunication Company (VIVA) (Kuwait)
Centre de Recherche en Numérique de Sfax (Tunisia)
Fondazione Ugo Bordoni (Italy)
Colegio de Ingenieros Mecánicos y Electricistas, A.C. (Mexico)
Gallaudet University (United States)
Axon Partners Group Consulting (Spain)
Higher Colleges of Technology (United Arab Emirates)
ADD International (Bangladesh)
Lodz University of Technology (Poland)
China International Telecommunication Construction Corporati (China)
World University of Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Aarhus University - Department of Engineering (Denmark)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (Dominican Rep.)
Instituto Especializado de Estudios Superiores Loyola (Dominican Rep.)
Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (Korea (Rep. of))
Centro Internacional de Investigación Científica en Telecomu (Ecuador)
University of Groningen (Netherlands)
Bournemouth University (United Kingdom)
The University of Zambia School of Natural Sciences (Zambia)
Bharat Broadband Network Limited (India)
The Walt Disney Company (United States)
Mastercard Worldwide (United States)
Panasonic Corporation (Japan)
Sultan Qaboos University (Oman)
Iran University of Science & Technology (Iran (Islamic Republic of))
Agence Ivoirienne de Gestion des Fréquences (AIGF) (Côte d



Sudanese Mobile Telephone Company, Zain

Sudanese Mobile Telephone Company, Zain (formerly Mobitel) is the pioneer of GSM services in Sudan, being the first to offer mobile operations back in February 1997. Today it serves the largest base of mobile customers in the country with more than 10 million active customers. Zain (then known as Mobitel) was a joint venture between the Sudanese Telephone Company Ltd and several private shareholders until 2006, when it was fully acquired by the Zain Group (formerly MTC) as part of its strategy of becoming first a regional, then a global telecom entity. With this acquisition MTC consolidated its position in both the Middle East and Africa enabling Mobitel, the pioneering and leading mobile telephone operator in Sudan.

Based inSudan (Republic of the)
ITU Global DirectorySudanese Mobile Telephone Company, Zain
Managing Director    
Elfaith Erwa

Mr. Erwa joined Khartoum University, Faculty of Economic, and then transferred to the Military College to graduate in 1970. He attended several training courses in Electronics, Radar and Artillery in Sudan and UK. Since graduation, Mr. Erwa is known for a vast, remarkable and colorful working experience. He is a prominent figure in Sudan and abroad for engaging in different official posts; Erwa served as a State Minister in the Presidency of the Republic of Sudan as National Security Advisor to the President during the period of 1989 to 1995. Mr. Erwa also held the position of a State Minister of Defense from 1995-1996. He was honorably appointed a State Minister of Defence 1995-1996. Erwa was appointed afterwards an Ambassador and a permanent Representative of Sudan to the United Nations in New-York, from 1996 till 2005, before occupying the post of Zain-Sudan Managing Director in Aug 2008.