

Radiocommunication Bureau (BR)

Our Ref.:	31B(DIR/BCD)O-2020-000832	Geneva, 17 April 2020
Our Ref	S1B(DIK) BCD)O-2020-000852	
Contact:	Ms Ilham Ghazi (TSD/BCD)	To: EGY, ERI, ETH, GHA, IRN, JOR, LBR,
Telephone:	+41 22 730 6329	NIG, SDN, SOM, SRL, SSD, SYR, YEM
Telefax:	+41 22 733 5785	
E-mail:	<u>brmail@itu.int</u>	

## Subject: Treatment of VHF analogue television broadcasting assignments in the planning area of the GE06 Agreement at the end of the *Transition period*

Refs:

- 1) Regional Agreement, Geneva 2006 for the planning of the digital terrestrial broadcasting service in parts of Regions 1 and 3, in the frequency bands 174-230 MHz and 470-862 MHz (RRC-06)
- 2) BR Letter CR/375 dated 19 December 2014

Dear Madam/Sir,

The *Transition period*, intended to facilitate the migration from analogue to digital television broadcasting through the protection of analogue assignments, has started on 17 June 2006 and will **end on 17 June 2020 at 0001 hours UTC** for VHF band, in accordance with the Regional Agreement Geneva 2006 (GE06) for the countries listed in its Article 12 and in CR/375 referenced above.

Please be informed that at the end of the above-mentioned transition period:

- All assignments recorded in the GE06 analogue Plan (GE06A) will be cancelled, in application of § 12.6 of the GE06 Agreement;
- The analogue television assignments recorded in the Master International Frequency Register (MIFR), subject to the GE06 Agreement, will be processed according to § 12.7 of the GE06 Agreement, No.
  11.50 of the Radio Regulations, and its corresponding Rule of Procedure.

In the case where your Administration has relevant entries in the MIFR, you are invited to:

- Review the corresponding MIFR assignments;
- Indicate by email to <u>BRMAIL@itu.int</u>, within 30 days from the date of this letter, the assignments to be cancelled and the ones to be kept in the MIFR after 17 June 2020. The assignments requested to be kept in the MIFR, in accordance with provision 12.8b) of the GE06 Agreement, will be subject to the conditions of not causing unacceptable interference to, and not claiming protection from, any assignments recorded with favourable findings in the MIFR on behalf of administrations party to the GE06 Agreement.

It is to be noted that for those notifications submitted in the meantime to BR, the results of the examination and further necessary action will be communicated to the administrations concerned in a separate letter.

The corresponding entries of both GE06A Plan and the MIFR can be visualized via myAdmin online tool (<u>https://www.itu.int/ITU-R/eBCD/FocalPointPages/myAdministration.aspx</u>) by your Administration's Focal Point for broadcasting online tools. If your Administration has never used the above-mentioned online tool, please designate your focal point(s) and submit to <u>brbcd@itu.int</u> in the format: First Name, Last Name, TIES username and Email address.

The Radiocommunication Bureau remains at the disposal of your Administration for any clarification you may require.

Yours faithfully,

Mario Maniewicz Director

## Telefax No. 31B(DIR/BCD)O-2020-000832

Adm	Address Fax	Fax NR	Notes
EGY	National Telecommunication Regulatory Authority (NTRA) Smart Village, Building No. 4 Alex Desert Road, Kilo 28 6th of October Governorate P.O. Box 12577 CAIRO Egypt	+20 2 353 44155	Language: E [Email: info@tra.gov.eg; asharaf@tra.gov.eg; shahiras@tra.gov.eg; ]
ERI	Ministry of Transport and Communications Egri Mekel Kahawata P.O. Box 6465 ASMARA Eritrea	+291 1 185 019 +291 1 184 690	Language: E
ETH	Ethiopian Communications Authority Robel Plaza Building Bole Subcity, Woreda 03 House Number 2483 P.O. Box 9991 ADDIS ABABA Ethiopia	+251 11 465 5763 +251 11 465 2480	Language: E [Email: balcha.reba@mcit.gov.et; ]
GHA	Ministry of Communications PO Box M38 P.O. Box M.38 ACCRA Ghana	+233 302 667 114	Language: E Fax temporary disrupted, kindly use surface mail and email until further notice. [Email: info@moc.gov.gh; ]
IRN	Communications Regulatory Authority (CRA) Ministry of Information and Communication Technology P.O. Box 15875-4415 TEHRAN, 15598 Iran (Islamic Republic of)	+98 218 846 8999 +98 21 884 11666	Language: E [Email: irnadm@cra.ir; ]
JOR	Telecommunications Regulatory Commission (TRC) Alshaheed Mohamad Al Zoghoul Street Building No (13) Bayader Wadi Al Seer District, Deir ghbar Area P.O. Box 850967 AMMAN, 11185 Jordan	+962 6 569 0830 +962 6 569 0829	Language: E [Email: trc@trc.gov.jo; moict@moict.gov.jo; ]
LBR	Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications Corner Carey & McDonald Streets MONROVIA, 10, 1000 Liberia	+231 227 838	Language: E

NIG	Federal Ministry of Communication Technology Spectrum Management Division Radio House Herbert Macaulay Way (South) Area 10, Garki, P.M. B. Abuja Nigeria	+234 807 760 0357	Language: E Fax is not in use for now, kindly send correspondences by email:spectrum.mgmt@commtech.gov.ng; nig.admin@commtech.gov.ng; nig.sm@commtech.gov.ng [Email: spectrum.mgmt@commtech.gov.ng nig.admin@commtech.gov.ng; nig.sm@commtech.gov.ng; ]
SDN	Ministry of Information, Communications and Information Technology P.O. Box 7379 KHARTOUM, 11123 Sudan	+249 183 562 360 +249 187 171 202 +249 187 177 777	Language: E [Email: ltisalat@tpra.gov.sd; Terrestrial@tpra.gov.sd; ]
SOM	Ministry of Posts, Telecommunications and Technology Jamhuria Road P.O. Box 66 MOGADISHU Somalia	+252 1 235 199	Language: E Until further notice please send to the Mission permanente de la Somalie, 64 Rue de Monthoux, 1201 GENÈVE Fax: 41 22 7318412, email: Genevamission@mfa.gov.so [Email: mi@mipt.gov.so; admin@mipt.gov.so; ]
SRL	Sierra Leone Telecommunications Co. (SIERRATEL) 7, Wallace Johnson Street P.O. Box 80 FREETOWN Sierra Leone		Language: E
SSD	Ministry of Information, Communication Technology and Postal Services P.O. Box 33 JUBA South Sudan		Language: E In the meantime, in the absence of a fax number, please use the e-mail adresses. [Email: lwkenyi@gmail.com; info@motps.goss.org; ]
SYR	Syrian Telecommunications and Post Regulatory Authority (SY-TPRA) P.O. Box 12011 DAMASCUS Syrian Arab Republic	+963 11 612 1291	Language: E [Email: ibaa.oueishek@sytra.gov.sy; communication.dir@sytra.gov.sy; ]
YEM	Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technology Altawahi P.O.Box 1221 ADEN Yemen	+967 2 201006	Language: E [Email: minister@mtitye.org; ]