Visa and entry formalities to Rwanda

- 1. Nationals of all African countries traveling to or transiting through Rwanda may obtain an entry visa upon arrival without necessarily making prior application with a cost of \$30, where applicable.
- 2. Nationals of the following countries are allowed to visit Rwanda without a visa for a period up to 90 days: Hong Kong, Philippines, Mauritius, Singapore and the Democratic Republic of Congo.
- 3. Nationals of Australia, Germany, Israel, New Zealand, Republic of South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, and United States of America are issued with entry visa valid for a period up to 30 days with a cost of \$30 upon arrival without prior application.
- 4. East African Community Partner states citizens' are issued with 6 months visitors pass upon arrival at no cost.
- 5. Nationals of the countries not exempted from visa (not mentioned in 1, 2, 3 and 4) may choose to get visa at Rwanda Diplomatic Missions (except the UN Mission in New York) or apply and pay for single entry visa online using the following link:
 - a. Apply and pay for single entry visa online: <u>https://www.migration.gov.rw/tracking/single-entry-visa/</u>
 - b. Apply for single entry visa and pay upon arrival at Rwandan official entry points: https://www.migration.gov.rw/index.php?id=28

It is recommended to read the Guidelines before filling the application form: https://www.migration.gov.rw/index.php?id=216

6. Foreign nationals with work/residence permits in Rwanda, Uganda and Kenya can travel within the 3 countries without paying visa fees. Eligible residents are issued with interstate pass. They are required to present valid (for at least 6 months) work/residence permits to get the interstate pass.

Visa fee

- 1. Entry visa fee is 30\$ or its equivalent in Euros or Pounds.
- 2. Participants holding Diplomatic Passport, Service/Official Passport, and AU/UN Laissez-passer travelling for official duty are exempted from visa fee.

Travel document

A traveller shall be holder of a valid passport or another acceptable travel document. The document must have a validity of at least 6 months on the day of entry in Rwanda.

Contact persons for visa issues

Ms Janet Umutesi Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA) Tel.: +250 788 854 592 E-mail: janet.umutesi@rura.rw Ms Rachel Muganga Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA) Tel.: +250 788 536 189 E-mail: <u>rachel.muganga@rura.rw</u>

Instructions on Yellow Fever prevention measures

While Rwanda is yellow fever-free, following the current active outbreak of Yellow Fever in Angola and the documenting of imported cases in some countries, the Rwandan Ministry of Health is implementing measures to prevent the import of yellow fever cases and therefore protect the health of residents and visitors.

The following instructions are delivered to inform public and travelers:

To enter in Rwanda, a yellow fever vaccination certificate **is not required** for travelers (Residents/ Non-Residents) coming from yellow fever non-endemic countries and without an active transmission outbreak of yellow fever.

- To enter Rwanda, a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate is mandatory for travelers (Residents/ Non-Residents) coming from yellow fever endemic countries¹ and countries² with active Yellow Fever transmission outbreaks.
- 2. All residents travelling to yellow fever endemic countries¹ should be vaccinated at least 10 days before travelling.
- 3. For travelers (Resident/Non-Resident) coming from an active yellow fever transmission outbreak country² or travelers who have recently visited (within 24 days) an active yellow fever transmission outbreak country² the following instructions will be applied:

https://www.migration.gov.rw/fileadmin/templates/PDF_files/PUBLICATIONS/Instruction_on_Y ellow_Fever.pdf for Ministry of Health public notice

DIRECTORATE GENERAL OF IMMIGRATION AND EMIGRATION

8 June 2016

Yellow Fever endemic countries¹: Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia Plurinational, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Venezuela.

Active Yellow Fever transmission outbreak country²: Angola