International Telecommunication Union   ITU
عربي  |  中文  |  Español  |  Français  |  Русский
 Advanced Search Advanced Search Site Map Contact us Print Version
Home : ITU-D : Technologies, Infrastructure and Applications


Final Program

ITU-APT Regional Seminar
on Broadband Wireless Access
for Asia Pacific Region

 Busan (Republic of Korea)
 10 September 2004

09:00 – 09:30 hours


- Welcome address: Jingsung Choi (LGE), Vice-President, Head of Mobile Communication Technology R&D Center and Seminar Chairman

- Opening address: G. Hugh Railton (Asia-Pacific Telecommunity - APT), Deputy Executive Director

- Opening address: Fabio Leite (ITU-BR)

09:30 – 10:30 hours

Session 1: Introduction to Wireless Broadband

Chairman: J. Choi, LGE

- Wireless Broadband in the Global Scene, Fabio Leite (ITU-BR)

- ITU Development Activities on Broadband, Riccardo Passerini (ITU-BDT)

- Broadband Convergence Network, Chulsoo Kim (Inje University, Rep. Korea), Professor

Coffee break: 10:30 – 10:45 hours

10:45 - 12:00 hours

Session 2: Broadband Programs and System Implementation

Chairman: J. Choi, LGE

Regional and National Programs and System Implementation:

- Canada: Susan Johnston (Industry Canada), Senior Policy Advisor, Asia
- India: Satya N. Gupta (Telecom Regulatory Authority of India - TRAI), Advisor, Converged Networks
- Japan: Kazuhiko Inoue (NTT Access Network Service Systems Laboratories), FWA Development Project
- Australia: Jonathan Withers (Personal Broadband Australia - PBBA), Chief Technology Officer
- Korea: Woo-Yong Choi (ETRI, Rep. Korea), Wireless LAN Services for Hotspot

12:00 – 12:30 hours

Questions & Answers

Lunch Break: 12:30 - 14:00 hours

14:00 - 16:00 hours

Session 3: Wireless Broadband Standards and Technology

Chairman: Byungmoon Jin, TTA

Standards Development:

- ITU: Akira Hashimoto (NTT DoCoMo), Chairman, ITU-R WP 9B
- ETSI BRAN Project: Mariana Goldhammer (Alvarion), BRAN Vice-Chair and HiperMAN Chair
- IEEE 802.16 Working Group: Ken Stanwood, Vice-Chairman, 802.16 Working Group
- TTA WiBro Project: Daehyoung Hong (TTA), Chairman, 2.3GHz Portable Internet Project Group

Introduction to WiBro technology: Soon Young Yoon (Samsung Electronics), Director/Head of 4G System Lab., Next Generation System Team

Coffee Break: 16:00 - 16:15 hours

16:15 - 17:15 hours

Session 4: Regulatory aspects of Wireless Broadband

Chairman: Daehyoung Hong, TTA

- Regulations and Advanced Wireless Broadband: Mariana Goldhammer (Alvarion), Director, Strategic Technologies

- National Regulations Case Study - China: Feibo Xie (China), Deputy-Director-General, Radio Regulatory Department, MII

- National Regulations Case Study - Australia: Hendrik Prins (Unwired), Consultant - Network Planning and Development

17:15 – 17:45 hours

Panel Discussion

Moderator: J. Choi, LGE

How to foster regional and global cooperation for development of wireless broadband?

Participants: speakers to be announced

17:45 – 18:00 hours


- Closing address: G. Hugh Railton (Asia-Pacific Telecommunity - APT), Deputy Executive Director

- Seminar Closing: Jingsung Choi (LGE),  Seminar Chairman


Top - Feedback - Contact Us -  Copyright © ITU 2012 All Rights Reserved
Contact for this page : BDT Web Support
Updated : 2011-03-21